You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Re-purposing Grain Bins!! Another upcoming homesteading adventure/project!

in #homesteading6 years ago

I would totally live in one. I'm in county. I think that itd be cool to use one as an outhouse or recording studio. Question I have is how hard would it be to add the windows and doors. Do you need a welder? Also, how do the hold up to tornados?

Sort:  

I've been asked about the windows and doors a lot. It is not that difficult, actually, almost no different than a traditional steel building (like what most sheds and garages are now made of). Just requires an angle grinder with a cutting wheel or an electric shear (~$50USD for either tool). From there you can use the same flashing/trim as a steel building or get creative with some old barn wood or other recycled materials. No welder required. As far as handling a tornado, I could see if you set the bin correctly, that it could possibly be safer in heavy winds than a traditional square building. Then again, I have seen solid brick buildings toppled from a tornado, so I guess it is all a big, "it depends". Probably, the best bet there would be to build forms for a small crawlspace/storm shelter before pouring the concrete pad.

Awesome! I thought they were much thicker than the barn or garage steel. That sounds a lot less intimidating than welding. Lol

True, the panels are a little thicker, but you can cut through it easily enough. Another note (which you probably already know), with these bins as least, they have thinner panels on the top and they get thicker as you get closer to the bottom of the bin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42