Planting now for our future and family memories

in #homesteading7 years ago


Good evening Steemians/Steemsters. I have to share the last few days. It culminated into another great day today.

I was at Tractor Supply a few days ago and out in front were a few cattle tanks filled with various trees. Various apple, pear and shade trees. There were a few pine and cedar trees in pots. And then hiding behind them all were three containers. They were grapes. Niagara, Concord and Catawaba.

I am envisioning our new farm to be modeled similar to that of my late Grandfather's farm...the family farm. Pleasant Valley Ranch. My Grandfather was not just a farmer; from what I can remember he had a huge garden, had a three row vineyard, tapped into maple trees to make his own syrup, kept bees for honey, had apple trees and walnut trees, etc. He was self sufficient, providing for his family of nine children and passing that knowledge on to them. He is my role model in this new chapter of family and I's life.

Ok so now you have the basis of what I want to achieve. Back to the present. I saw the three containers and I immediately purchased them. I have read up a little bit on grapes, but there is soooo much more that I need to learn. After two days of sitting in the back of my truck, I finally got them planted.

So today I had to go back to Tractor Supply because being the newbie that I am I bought the wrong size draw bar for the garden tractor. What a dunce! So here is a newbie "pearl of wisdom;" MEASURE YOUR PINS AND HOLES BEFORE BUYING ANYTHING FOR TRACTORS OR EQUIPMENT! Well as I was leaving out of the store I looked over and just happen to see something different sitting next to the trees. I went over to investigate. Blueberries!!

So when we were stationed in North Carolina, Duplin County had the Blueberry Festival. One year I took part in the Blueberry 5k run. Anyway, of the many fruit festivals that took place in NC, the Blueberry Fest as always a hit with us. Then one of our friends had a blueberry bush that was in their neighbors yard. The neighbor said that they could pick whatever hung over the fence. IT WAS LIKE HALF THE BUSH! We filled up sooo many buckets. It was awesome.

Ok back to now. So without hesitation I picked up two blueberry bushes. I knew in my heart that my beautiful wife Marian would absolutely love for us to have blueberries. I went to Lowes and picked up a bag of Acidifer and immediately went to selecting a site for both bushes. The previous owner had cattle on the property and next to the shop was manure rich dirt. So I tilled up two buckets worth of the nutrient rich dirt and took it up to the sites.


The smallest of the two blueberry bushes. What I did not do yet was tie plastic bags or tin foil around the cages to keep deer and birds away. Tomorrow that will get done. (Shout out to @mericanhomestead for the plastic bag tip!)

After getting them planted I just paused for a moment and just took in the sight that was before me, envisioning what this section of the farm will look like in the future. Lush full apple trees, long grape vines and full blueberry bushes while my daughters climb the apple trees and pull grapes and blueberries off for a light snack. With God's blessing and diligent hard work and determination I know in my heart that this dream will in time be my reality.


The two blueberry bushes are up in front. The three apple trees are on the right and the three grapes are on the left.

I was able to finish planting the blueberry bushes and do a little mowing just before the girls got off the school bus. I told them that I had a surprise for them. Their eyes were huge and smiling from ear to ear. I walked them over towards the garden and I told them if they see anything different. They said yes. "Daddy, what are those new plants?" I told them what they were and they screamed with joy soooooooooo loud it hurt my ears.


It is the days and moments like this that I feel so blessed; God has truly blessed me with providing me a beautiful wife that has given me three beautiful daughters. I am so honored and humble that I am their father and I can put these smiles on their faces. Nothing in this world could ever replace that. Thank you Lord!

I will post updates and conditions of our new fruit bearing plants.


Here is our garden area, well about half so far. Our goal is that we can plant enough to be completely self sufficient, preserve our harvest through canning, freezing or dehydrating. But most of all we want to have extra produce and eggs so that we can pass this blessing to the local food pantry or families in need. If our dreams and goals are successful we want to teach others to grow for themselves and somehow have a ministry or bible study with gardening blended into it.

Have a good night everyone.

Kenny
Pfeiler Family Farm

Sort:  

What a wonderful post! You truly are blessed with a beautiful family, the smiles on your daughters' faces are priceless! Yay for grapes and blueberries! I hope you realize your goal of self-sufficiency and yielding a surplus to give to those in need. Following you and looking forward to more posts from you in my feed! Cheers - Carl

Thank you Carl! I hope and pray that this dream becomes our reality. Whether we succeed or stumble, I will be providing updates. Thanks again.

Well there will surely be stumbles, there always are... but stumble is a great word because it suggests a momentary setback before regaining balance and continuing on your way :)

You're living the dream brother.

God Bless.

great post mate. I need to do blueberries.
Actually in saying that I need to do a lot of things. But i had forgotten about blueberries.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83