You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Keys to Long Lasting Hand Knit Socks

in #homesteading7 years ago

Very interesting post. I've always wanted to get into handknitted socks. We are looking at getting an alpaca or two soon. I understand their wool is good for socks. Have you tried alpaca wool at all?

Sort:  

I have and they make a very warm sock, but not as long lasting in my experience. We will use alpaca socks for our son this winter. Can you or someone in your household knit?

There are commercial sock yarns where the traditionla wool/nylon blend is mixed with a bit alpaca. They are a bit more soft and nearly as long lasting as yarn without it. You can say that the 5% Alpaca in the yarn will take 5% off the life of the socks ;)
I have some Norwegian sock yarn with only Alpaca and Nylon. Very very soft but I think these socks are not meant to be worn in shoes, they are for keeping you warm and cosy at home, on your sofa or even in bed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61680.81
ETH 3443.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51