Homesteaders & Preppers on steemit - the localised edition v5 [16 Jul '17]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

I've been busy doing busy things on the homestead the last couple of weeks so have been away from steemit a bit, but I've still found some time to keep scouting out new homesteaders and preppers.

Growth has slowed a bit after the massive burst of activity on all things steemit during May and June. But we are now up to 127 !!

I've decided to try a different arrangement of the list this time. Although steemit is a global platform I thought it might be useful to present the list in location groupings. This might help with local networking as well as online networking.

Florida, North Carolina and Texas in the US do seem to be the big locations for homesteaders and preppers. Is it the weather??

If anyone hasn't declared their location on their profile and would like it adding to the list let me know. Specifics aren't needed - just state or region will be fine.

Here is the latest list of homesteaders and preppers. My apologies if I have missed anyone from the list that has already contacted me - just post in the comments again. Or if you know anyone else who should be on the list let me know.


Homesteaders & Preppers on steemit (v5) :




If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in my new post The Daily Threat - this is a compilation of important news from around the world about issues that might just cause the S to hit the F.

Sort:  

Another down to earther from Montana. After 30 years in the wilds of Alaska I relocated to Montana where I'll have a better chance at growing a wider variety of self-sustaining foods. Peaches, corn, squash, tomatoes, peppers and beans to name just a few that really don't mature in the rain forest of SE AK. The real big instigator that kicked me out of the rainforest and over the hump to MT was Fukushima. 3 nuclear reactor core meltdowns spewing their radioactive waste into the Pacific ocean directly upwind and upcurrent of the Left coast of America. There will be consequences. Anyway, I'll be sharing tips and tricks I've learned over the years so stay tuned to my blog @mtgoat
Current projects to be highlighted- A pergola for the grapes, 100 blueberries, a firewood buzz saw, converting a '53 FC Jeep to a log getter. There will be more.
Cheers Ya'll
Pete

Hi Pete, followed and added to the list. Looks like you've got a lot going on there.

Florida, North Carolina and Texas in the US do seem to be the big locations for homesteaders and preppers. Is it the weather??

I don't know about Florida, but it could be the moonshine.

Could be, could be. I've never had moonshine so I'll guess we'll need some of the Texas and North Carolina homesteaders on here to comment on this.

Texas is hot as hell and humid right now.

We keep trying to use that excuse to keep the northerners out, but it doesn't work.

Lol. I know, it's like the flood gates are open.

Telling the Californians that the beach is too far away doesn't work either.

I was hoping there'd be more Oregonians! Hahah. Ah well, me and @haphazard-hstead will just have to keep on representing! Hahah. Thanks for making this list!! <3

Hi @farmstead, I'm surprised too. I thought Oregon was a pioneer part of the country, so would have a lot of homesteaders. Maybe they haven't found their way on to steemit yet!

Just for interest I googled 'homesteading in Oregon' and found these very interesting articles :

It's a great pity the Homestead Act was repealed!

Everything good gets repealed! Ugh.

I think there are. A lot of homesteaders and farmers but they're still really behind on the times, so they definitely wouldn't have made it to Steemit yet. Even hard to find quality ones on FB!

Wow! Thanks for the links! I found historical docs about my property on the blm one! Been looking for more information!

If we build it, they will come (hopefully).

Good that you found the historical docs about your property.

We haven't had anything like a Homestead Act in the UK. Although our property was created in the 1700's under the Tŷ Unnos 'scheme' where if someone could build a house on common land in one night and have smoke rising from the chimney by morning they would get the freehold of the land :

At least you got the two of you. I might change my name to the lone Alaskan. lol

Hahah I am sure there are others! Maybe they just don't have their location set. I swear I saw someone SOMEWHERE say they're in Alaska! Haha.

We might as well each be in different states since the climate here in Central Oregon is vastly different than Western. Hahaha.

Ah, your not from the Oregon I know. Your from the dry and warm Oregon. I met my wife in Portland, the cold and wet Oregon. lol
Steemit takes a bit of getting used to. I'll get it figured out. Hope you have a great week.

Well i am from the wet rainy part! I just chose sun! Haha

Hi @myalaskadream, I'll add you to the list as the first Alaska entry if that is okay?

That's perfect with me. I'm still trying to find my way around steemit. I'll get used to it. lol

Thank you for the resteem @farmstead.

Of course! I think everyone should know where we can find our people!

Lots of new and interesting people to follow :-) Thanks for doing this list.

Thanks for the resteem @geordieprepper. We need to get a few more from the UK on there - bit of a poor show so far 😞

No worries, I just don't think people are aware of the site to be honest. I've had one other guy based here interested in it, so hopefully he comes along.

We'll keep plugging away and they will come.

Thanks for compiling a list and its alphabetized. Yippee!
How often do you publish the list?
Thanks again.

Hi @myalaskadream, glad you like the list. I publish it every one to two weeks depending on how many new entries I get.

That's cool thank you and yes please add us to the list. We will try to do Alaska justice.

You're on for version 6 of the list @myalaskadream. You are now the principal of the Alaska chapter of steemian homesteaders 😊

Why thank you. I think I head trumpets in the background when I was reading this.

Thanks for posting 👍🏻

You're welcome.

Upvoted and Resteemed. Thank you for this list, it is very helpful. Also, if you don't mind, could I have your permission to use this list in some of my posts? I can credit you as the originator of the list, and resync any new preppers that I find with you so you can grow your list from the people I find.

If you would like, you may update mine to read "Midwest, USA." I like the idea of keeping the exact area private but I've mentioned the general area lol :)

Hi @kiaraantonoviche, thanks for that. I'll add midwest on to your location in the next list.

Nice list! Thank you for putting this together and for the add on there :D

You're welcome.

STEREEMED ;)

Thank you.

You're welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62869.05
ETH 2545.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72