Friday the 13th struck me hard

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Got up really early this afternoon and was making my coffee when I looked out the window across 2 of my gardens. Wilted leaves as far as the eye can see. All of my nightshades are dead (tomatoes, peppers, eggplants). The sun was barely overhead and my eyes were bleary, so I grabbed my coffee and went out and surveyed the damage.

Looks like I'm making green tomato salsa, harvesting my super hot peppers early, and preserving eggplants tomorrow.

Forecast said low of 37 F. Same exact thing happened last year.

I want to curse my luck, but I'll just treat this as a learning experience. I'll grow more early varieties next year. There's always next year. I always do better the next year. So there's that to look forward to!

On the bright side, my storage carrots and rutabagas are going gang busters! Stew season is nearly upon us here in the PNW. Need to start looking for sales on hamburger meat for chili too! I'm almost out of the chili I made last season and I have loads of habaneros to spice this years batch up right.

Sort:  

Hi Friends,nice to read about you.
I am from bangladesh, I am new on steemit and welcome you to steemit
I have followed you.I also vote & response you.so you can also follow me.Please vote & response me.
Best of Luck .

If the forecast said 30F, would you have covered your plants somehow?

I'm thinking that plastic hoop houses may work. Not sure what else. What you do about frost and fall crops in a field?

Nope, not prepared at all to cover my rows. Definitely something to work on next season.

Fall crops should survive light frost easily, but are still susceptible to hard freezes. I think my rutabagas look healthier for the cold snap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44