Eating fresh garden veggies well into the winter!

Had to harvest my spaghetti squashes early before they ripened because they were literally exploding from all the rain we've been getting. I lost about half of them to splitting and bursting :(

Not sure how much all of this weighs, but it was enough to cause a blowout on my trailer.

After they've cured thoroughly, they'll get a wipe-down with a mild bleach solution to prevent early spoilage. The garage stays nice and cool all year long so they should keep for quite a while!

wintersquashes01.jpgwintersquashes02.jpg

Sort:  

What a great harvest my friend. I am still waiting for my Cantalope to get just a bit bigger before I pick em. You must be in Canada?

Almost! I'm a neighbor to your southern border, an hour south of Seattle, WA.

You must be close to me then. I am in Tacoma, but still looking for a place to put my RV, and set up my mini homestead. Just came in from Florida. I think we are about an hour south of Seattle.

Wow! That looks like so much work!!
So wish I was where you're already at. Nicely done.
To market to market?

I'm hoping to get most of it into our bellies! Making a carrot and pumpkin soup to enjoy on this wet dreary day.

Nice post. I am keeping root veggies and squash in a shed for the winter. Followed and Upvoted.

Congratulations @pacific-farmer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Now... these are really cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65670.18
ETH 2575.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65