RIP Lucy. She was a really good chicken

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20190318_143946299_HDR.jpg

Lucy had a swift end, probably a hawk although I could hear and see that she put up quite a fight. She always was a fighter, the good kind. I will miss her.


She's the short one, like me.

IMG_20190217_140840192_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

A nice way to remember her with the feathers and of course she's on the block chain forever now 💯🐒

Except she's not dead! I went out before dusk to make sure, despite the earlier piles of feathers and blood curdling cries, that she wasn't hanging out somewhere in shock. Another of them clearly was in shock so something had been out there trying to sink either teeth or claws into one of my chickens. And Lucy came running over to me! We were both very happy. Thank you for reading.

Great to hear a tough old bird then 💯🐒

She's alive!!! You wrote "was" in the header so I wasn't expecting this surprise. Yay!!!!
That is so cool I might have to steal it for a story. :) So if you plan to work it into a story, hurry, write it before I steal it. Then again, the truth is too crazy for fiction. A chicken running slow-motion across the flowering meadow to her delighted human -- um, "JUST" a chicken -- it sounds like a comedy. But I can picture it and I love Lucy the little hen who lived!

I was ecstatically happy when she turned up. All the signs of a chicken's demise were there, I had given up. I hate to think what would have happened if she'd spent the night outside, with whatever earlier had her in its clutches still at large.
I had run out in my slippers when I heard the ruckus so I think I scared whatever it was off. May have been a coyote since there was a pile of feathers under a bush and no bird would have plucked her there, but a coyote hunting in broad daylight would be a very bad thing.
Oh my thank you for listening! I needed to talk about this!
Of course you can use it in a story that would delight me no end.

it's TOO GOOD for fiction! You've told the story here, beautifully, but thank you for granting permission to steal it. could be years before I find a home for it. So I hope you'll work into a novel sometime. Otherwise if I see a chance first I'm totally stealing the feathers, the mourning, the morning after, though in this case Lucy was not left out overnight. Already I'm taking liberties. :) Your chickens would be great subjects for a children's books or for the story of a woman homesteader and her flock. I'd totally read it!!!

I gave in to my youngest, who had been asking for chickens for years, when I finally realized my kids were learning NOTHING in their science classes. As it turned out, she also learned more math than she could have in any class. This is when I started to understand that the public schools, even those considered to be among the best (ours) were failing our children. I have no idea why I just told you that. I guess your suggestion I use it as a children's book or the story of my life.

I can believe your kids learned more math by raising chickens than in the classroom. Too much abstract learning and rote and not enough hands-on or real-world applications. Btw, your subject header had me alarmed - did Lucy die after all?? - but then I saw this reply. Phew! And then I realized I'd had a dog named Lucy killed in the Jen-Ben is Missing story. Now I know why the name Lucy had come to mind. I'd forgotten the chicken's name, but my subconsious held onto it :)

When I posted it, I thought for sure she was a goner. But she's good. And it's still a good story.

Rest in peace Lucy

!sbi status

Hi @owasco!

  • you have 16 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 81052989518 or 0.056 $
  • you need to wait until your upvote value (current value: 0.011 $) is above 0.012 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 52.41 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 24.93 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 22.66 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    A pending upvote balance is tracked for you in our database. Each time you post, your balance is drawn down by up to 20%. If you post again before that amount is replenished, your next upvote will be smaller. Our minimum upvote for posts is $0.012. Your balance accumulates until a minimum upvote can be delivered with 20% of your pending balance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84