You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Happiness is... eating a meal you have grown / reared yourself

in #homesteading7 years ago

For me this is inspirational, it a very long road to any kind of food independence. I am working on being less dependent of supermarket food and try to find Local Food, and once or twice a week we eat a 100% local meal. I think anyone can achieve that. And it's really rewarding to know the story of your food.

Sort:  

Glad you like the post. That's how I started with local food. Then I started on an 'Eat Who You Know' program - only buying from local producers that we had met. Then it just got more and more local until I reached my own back garden.

Worth starting with some microgreens on a windowsill. They grow easily and quickly. About 10 days after sowing hey presto you have your own salad leaves. Salad leaf independence is pretty easy - even in the winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67