Upkeeping the paddock

in #homesteading7 years ago

Hey fellow Steemers

Its a been a busy morning with one graden bed all mulched and with the look of rain on the horizon I thought it would be a good chance to do a bit of paddock maintenance.

We currently have 1'2 and arce divide into two paddocks. The grass we have is not the best and I have found if I let it get too long the tops stay green but everything underneath turns brown and it locks out the rain so with summer here the paddocks dont come away after the sheep have grazed.

20180112_112203.jpg

Grass green on top

20180112_112216.jpg

Grass not looking so good underneath.

Ive top 3/4 of our smaller paddock today using our trusty brush cutter (Its a good arm workout).
I currently have 5 of last years lambs grazing in this paddock including our orhpan mate Toothpick and with no paddock topping experince complete without Toothpick sneaking up behind, and giving me the fright of my life she can tick that box off for the day.
I'll let the lambs graze in there this afternoon before moving them to the next paddock and then I'll decided weather or not I'll give the neighboring farmers a laugh and top the paddock with my push mower just to try and thin that creeping grass abit more before I put some fert on.

20180112_110345.jpg

Happy Steeming everyone .........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59841.39
ETH 2413.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43