Day two

in #homesteading7 years ago

Updating on the new addition to the family

We got through the first 24 hours and now nearly the first 48 hours really well, due to her size I believe she is a perm and re adjusted her formal and feeding times to suit as I was worried I may have been overfeeding her.

I changed her mix from 140 mls every 4 hours to 90 mls every 3 hours and she really picked up after this and started finding her feet.

After doing a lot of reading on good old google and looking at some of the life style block forums for lamb rearing in New Zealand, we have up to a 20% mortality rate with lambs that can occur in the first 10 days due to cold, starvation and infection.
So today I have changed her pen to a bigger one but still inside where I can keep a eye on her while I go about my day to day routine. I have changed her bedding from the hay I had lying around in the shed for the chicken boxes to clean wood shaving, and due to her moving out of the lounge where the fire is I have her snuggled up in a blanket with a hot water bottle.
She has had all the colostrum milk recommend in the first 24 hours to help stop infections and in the next couple of hours she will go to on a Lamb Milk Re-placer were it will once again be 140 mls for 6 feeds.

Fingers crossed it continues to go well and we may even look at naming her.

Happy steeming everyone.....

Sort:  

What about Toothpick for her name?
I think it would suit her

What a precious time. I hope that it all goes well and she grows up healthy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59841.39
ETH 2413.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43