Homesteading Post #2 - Helping Off Grid Friends Free Themselves From the Snow!

Winter sets in for northeastern Washington

Hey friends! I'm a little late with this post as I said I'd try to make 1 post per week documenting my urban farm and my transition to a real farm in the rural countryside. This post is more about helping friends who have already made the transition and learning from them so I don't have some of the same issues.
Blog thumbnail.jpg
Last Wednesday evening there was a national weather service winter storm warning for most of Washington. Being a native Montanan from just east of the continental divide snow is no stranger to me so I while I make sure I'm prepared I've learned the people of eastern Washington don't really know what it means to have a snow event. That being said my friends up north in Elk, WA said they've been there since 2016 and this is the most amount of snow they have had in such a short time.
SnapShot(44).jpg
My partner in crime for creating and pushing the Spokane Freedom Exchange contacted me Thursday afternoon and hinted she'd like to take me up on an offer I made to help out with snow removal if her and her husband needed it this winter. I had some things keeping me in Spokane Until Saturday but told her I would be up there with a small crew by Saturday morning to help dig out and take care of anything they needed help with.
SnapShot(48).jpg
Upon getting there Saturday with my crew of 4 I was told the hay structure they had to keep their hay for the goats in had collapsed sometime during the night. After some disappointment that we didn't get up there sooner to help fix it we came up with a game plan and started in with digging them out so they could move their vehicles and get to town if need be. Luckily for them they are off grid and prepared for this situation but it is never fun to feel trapped in the snow.
SnapShot(50).jpg
We started by digging out the iced up snow banks so their driveway was usable again. The reason the hay structure collapsed was because on Friday it warmed up just enough to rain but not really melt anything. This added a lot of weight to the snow and created a very icy snow, especially where it had already been piled. We got to work breaking it down and moving it out of the way so we could park without blocking the road.
SnapShot(46).jpg
After digging out the driveway area we proceeded to take down the collapsed structure and then move more hay down to that area so it would be closer to the goats who need it. Then we came to a reasonable solution to cover the hay to keep it out of the weather and also make it accessible to my friend so she could get it to her hungry milk producing goats.
SnapShot(52).jpg
After several hours of fun, playing in the snow and even some hard work we had it all taken care of. The weather is supposed to be fairly good for a week which will give them opportunities to get snow loads off of other roofs on their property so they don't have any more collapses. I'm happy to report so far so good!
SnapShot(55).jpg
I hope y'all are having a great winter and embracing the new year as the year of FREEDOM! Until next time take care and always remember to live free!

Support Questionable Authority and Independent Journalism with Cryptocurrency or fiat currency

Pirate Chain(ARRR) - zs1txwcrkpzuxk9qscf993xpwxa59ryng3mqajfcu6hs988ety6r8enxutku5a7pgk8npr3q8mcz2y
Monero - 876CskHzzPL1d1npiYMUk5dGyLS5zo5swSn6SmhcHBvdH1GsQqMdxzwMxKTU27eZyZAjdjRxVDZQRZprsNcqDuzA6AHf6NH
BitCoin - 34LMmp4Pc2kQuRKmBCqhakD7EZudVsNY3S
Ethereum - 0x08aac07654b5f74eb7d3be80e369d2db5bfd2bfc
PayPal
Venmo
Cash App - $QuestionableAuth

Follow me on Flote.App to catch all my posts.

This is the place I will share video's, blogs, etc. It will be the one stop shop for all things QA from here on out. I will also be doing all of my Livestreams from here on out on Flote.App so come join me on a censorship free blockchain based social media app for everyone!

Join Library/Odysee and earn crypto for yourself and support QA by clicking here and creating an account.

QA Now available on "Activism News Network" on ROKU!

Commercial free access and exclusive content from this channel and over 20 other activist channels for $3.99/month. Follow the links below to get more infor and sign up. No censorship on this ROKU channel.
Activism News Network website
Sign up for the channel on ROKU $3.99/month

Check out the QA Merchandise shop here! Support us and show your love for freedom at the same time:

Click here for Spreadshirt store
Click here for TeeSpring store

Find QA everywhere online!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95