You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eggs Unchilled & Unwashed: Why Mexico and Europe Do Eggs Smarter than the U.S.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

The funny thing is though, in the UK, we buy them from the grocery store or supermarket where, like you say, they are on normal shelves with dry goods and then when we get them home they bunged in the fridge! Habit I guess. Here in Thailand is the same as you in Mexico, unwashed and they stay out of the fridge. Is it also right that in the US they put tomato ketchup in the fridge too?

Sort:  

In the US the ketchup is usually refrigerated after opening. However, it is common to see a bottle of it sitting on a restaurant table permanently, unrefrigerated. About the eggs, I have read that some countries require vaccinating the chickens for salmonella, and here in the US this is not required, and that is why we refrigerate. I am not sure if that is fact. Also, the eggs sold in our stores here are unfortunately usually already a month old or so, and are not fresh, so they are refrigerated to make them last longer than eggs usually would at room temperature. I personally prefer to eat my own homegrown eggs and don't need to worry either way. However, if I don't have access to these, I will just eat any egg available.

The packaging tells us to. :P

I think we all need to bring out our inner rebel!!

This isn't necessarily true as a rule of thumb. I'm British and never put eggs in the fridge. They seem to keep just as well at room temperature.

I guess it's similar to how some people leave butter in a butter container on a counter top rather than refrigerating it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76