Things I'm learning while house shopping

We're buying a house.

Actually, we put in an offer last night. The property needs a bit of work, but I'm the type to do the work. The home on the property is brand new construction, and very spacious for our family.

In the process of buying a property, I'm learning a lot. The big things are:

  1. Septic systems
  2. Drainage systems (french drains and gutters)
  3. How drainage systems interact with septic systems

That's something I've never really had to deal with, so I've spent probably ten hours this week reading about this stuff. Being as the property I want is outside city limits, it has septic, not city sewer. I actually like that.

FB_IMG_1519542315528.jpg
Mom says tomatoes will love that, and guess what? I want tomatoes.

It will fertilize the soil. I want fertile soil. I'm going to put a small family farm on this land, so I'll need good dirt. I want to set aside about half the lot (it's just over an acre) to a permaculture farm with fruit trees, nut trees, chickens, and veggies. The variety will grow as I learn, but I want to start with the trees and chickens, with a strawberry patch and some tomatoes and peppers. That'll be pretty basic and a good place to start I think.

The more I learn, the more I'll post, so y'all stay tuned and hit the follow button. I'll be sure to post updates in the process.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65876.23
ETH 2700.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86