You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Do I Keep At It?

As @bghandmade says, stacking functions is probably a smart move. I don't know your business setup or really anything about cows, but if you're selling milk as a commodity, I doubt there's a way to do well at it. Walmart will make more for a gallon of milk than the family that produced it. No doubt you've read Joel Salatin, and I imagine you'd stand to benefit from setting up a local food economy based around your dairy.

Soap, cheese, whole raw milk, beef, leather. All from cows. Run chickens with your cows, and put in a fruit and nut orchard. That way you get tons of crops from one piece of land and it all benefits from each other.

I love the idea of working on a farm. If you were in North Texas, I'd be driving to your place right now to help build things! We've got new friends an hour away setting up a permaculture farm that we'll be helping with in the spring. And wife is working on making friends with a family here in town that has a small farm that I want to help with. A farm needs young hard workers to help the farmer. You're the one with experience and rusted joints. You need a youngun that needs to learn and can swing a hammer. If that makes sense.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34