You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Forest To Fungi: Growing Shiitake Mushrooms

Very cool! I should look into that next time we get another branch or log. Not sure yet if any of our native wild mushrooms are edible, but there's a lot of fungal activity in our soil here. Can't wait to see what it does when we add all our leaves and wood chips...

Sort:  

curious what types of mushrooms you have. i'm sure a few edible species at least- maybe chantrelles, oysters, boletes, chicken of the woods and morels in spring? where do you live again?

North Texas. Our neighborhood is full of mature trees, so there's a lot of fungi about. One that I've been able to identify was common stinkhorn mushrooms. We've had a few of those about, and lots of others that I haven't taken the time to identify yet.

cool! looks like you have a lot of options :) https://sciencing.com/types-edible-mushrooms-texas-8569802.html

aren't stink horns cool!? little phallic smelly guys!

It was really neat watching them bloom and die off. The substructure in their dome was really neat to observe.

Looks like I may have encountered some oysters at my sister in law's wedding a couple weeks back:

IMG_20181021_181036249.jpg

This pic got me in big trouble with the owner, who was convinced I was going to get bit by a snake when I ran off the path to take pictures of mushrooms. It was an irresistible opportunity though. Huge white mushrooms shooting off of a stump is too good to pass up. Wish I'd known, cause it would have freaked the lady out even more if I'd come out of the woods chopping on a mushroom 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64