It's working!

I think we're getting strawberries!

IMG_20190215_195507015.jpg

IMG_20190215_195649084.jpg

IMG_20190215_200024286.jpg

The alpine Alexandria strawberries are the last
two pics. They're doing particularly well, which I suppose isn't a surprise. A more wild cultivar would naturally be more prolific. The other two have about five sprouts so far.

I'm getting excited! Just started 3 dozen goji seed pods too. Two or three seeds per pod, just to make sure. In nature they'd fall a couple dozen per fruit, so I figure this is a bit more efficient than that, while still hedging our bets a little.

The seed packets from Baker Creek says up to 7 pounds of fruit per bush by the third year... That's super exciting, even if we only have ten plants take.

I'm raiding the stash of egg cartons for more planting containers! MUST. PLANT. MORE. THINGS!

The trees are all setting buds. I imagine it'll be spring before we know it!

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video1549779729.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

I remember planting a strawberry bed and everything was going well until the neighbors peacocks got out of their cages and demolished all of the budding strawberries in less than 3 minutes.

Wow, that sucks! A fair trade would have been for them to offer you the birds for supper!

Got some eggs out of the deal, peacock eggs are pretty good. Basically taste like normal eggs but are slightly larger.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to see some stuff growing, huh?

Please provide enough light as they already seem too tall and too thin! You risk damping off and losing them! Also air circulation is very important as well as keeping that soil not too wet!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, I really wasn't expecting them to sprout so soon, so I haven't been checking often enough. Guess I need a grow light, as it's too cold to set them outside.

Cool they've come up so well. I'd reinforce all @bghandmade said, plus say, don't let them get too root bound in those tiny cells.... once roots start circling, they don't straighten out once planted, so don't find food sources.

Ooh, I didn't know that about the roots!

I'll start using more of the paper cartons then. I bet the roots won't get bound in them like they will in the plastic.

Depending on how dense they are, and the type of root, they might....

Your strawberries look amazing. Last year we planted seventy six strawberry plants and our goats ate them all. Hopefully yours do better. :)

We don't have goats and I'm determined to keep the chickens off of them.

No chickens eating my strawberries. We'll put out these 72 cells in addition to the 40 we put out a couple weeks ago. Not sure if I'll start more or not.

I hope you can keep the chickens off of them. You can get up to a pint of berries off of each strawberry plant. You may get over a hundred pint of berries from your plants. Wow! That's may be a great harvest. :)

Good to see I need to get planting eek 💯🐒

Awesome! Great to see! You are giving me hope that I can do the same on my homestead. My family and I love strawberries and I would love to grow some by seed. Thanks for sharing this project!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73