Exciting times for my family! Need input, as always.

This has been a BIG week!

Sorry I haven't posted or commented much this week everyone. Things have been kinda busy.

Tax return came in, and I bought the bigger of the two robot kits I was gonna buy. It'll be here soon, and there will be a post.

And we got approved for a mortgage!

After a year of hard work (especially the last two months), my credit is good enough that we got approved for a mortgage. I'm so excited. I'm gonna have a place that I can use to provide for my family. We went to look at a place today for the second time. We took a notebook this time and wrote down some things. I've started a project list already, but most importantly, I've started a list of things to learn.

  1. I need to learn about septic systems. The place has an aerobic system on it, and I need to understand that.
  2. I need to understand drainage. About 3" of water was flowing down the driveway from neighboring properties, which all drain through the property we're looking at. I need to install a drain and understand how that system will interact with the septic system.
  3. I need to learn more about home automation. This part will take the most learning, as it's something I've never worked with even remotely.
  4. I need to learn more about permaculture. I know I want apricot trees, plum trees, peach trees, pecan trees, strawberries, and tomatoes, but I'm not sure how exactly. It might be a year before I start actually doing anything on that front. Chickens too.

The to-do list is massive, and the to-learn list is broad. Exactly what I need: an encompassing, multi-faceted project.

See, I'm a pretty handy guy. I've done handyman work, cabinetry, framing, small concrete work, welding (my trade), and electrical work, among others that I'm probably forgetting. Not much plumbing, but that's okay. I'll learn. So I intend to do most of the work myself to:

A. Cut back on cost.
B. Maximize value, and
C. As always, learn.

When I was a kid, we would often raise a small garden in our yard that we would use to produce food. That sparked this interest for me. I would like to produce food for my family and possibly my community.

If we end up buying this home, it will definitely be a major theme of my blog from then on, as we farm and homestead on the property. Big plans, with big goals!

Y'all stay progressive, productive, and relevant

Nate

P.S. If any of my followers know about anything up there, let's talk! I need input and resources. I know there's the internet, and I've already spent hours reading about a lot of this stuff, but I always need more learning.

Sort:  

When it comes to Permaculture - check out: https://versaland.tv/p/farmscale-permaculture
Its a online course for free about farmscale permaculture, they have videos and a ton of pdfs with information. This is the course im taking - you can watch the classes whenever you have time and finish at your own pace. I learned so much in the keyline design part of the course, it really helps you with how too look at the land and see what needs doing in terms of water - workflow and so on.

Yes! That would like exactly what I need! Thanks so much, I'll go check it out on my next break.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65