Self-Watering Planters Project Ideas for Homesteaders

in #homesteading6 years ago

When you can't actively water the plants on daily basis. Then it's helpful to put some sort of automated irrigation system for the plants. You can make use of the self watering planter concept in such case In this curation I am listing of the self watering planters ideas that you can take a look at. Do let me know if you have tried some of the similar projects. I'd love to know more ideas in this concept.

Check out the self watering planter projects.

Bottle Garden

This may sound obvious concept. Because here you are focused on the self watering the plant. And bottle is the best choice for this type of the self watering project. I have also tried some of the similar concept with small bucket and cup. I think bottle fits for most of the scenarios. And you should consider making use of the planter such as this. I'd recommend this if you want to try out with herb garden.

img5.jpg

Image credit: We like garden

Check out the post on bottle garden.

Self Watering Container

Another interesting tutorial where you can see the self watering bucket container. And this can be one good idea in case if you want to use existing buckets or containers for the self watering mechanism. It goes through the process on how to plant the water. And also keeps the soil to water ratio in tact. So that's definitely something you may want to take a look at as well. Recommended tutorial.

img6.png

Image credit: Instructables

Check out the tutorial at instructable

Here's one video where you can find out how the drip irrigation system is being used to water the plants. Though this idea may require some work. There are few other similar ideas which you can setup for larger garden.

Channel Credit: Dripdepot

I hope you like some of these ideas. Do let me know what type of the water system you have in your container garden or backyard. I'd love to know more from your experience.

Rydhi
xox



Sort:  

I've did this before a lot of times for the houseplants. Didn't work.

The reason being is that the soil itself becomes water logged, even tho' the two are not in direct contact, but connected with a piece of fabric, utilizing capillar action.

Molds and algae grow in the soil and the plant dies.

I think the only working self-watering system is a flood and drain one. With which I have no experience with, so I won't talk about.

Have you tried herbs? I have found coriander, mint and garlic and ginger easy to plant in such bottles or small containers.

You got a 5.17% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @myscrible!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74