Sort:  

Unfortunately, I live in the north, so everything is frozen over right now. I'll see if they make residence in these again this coming season. Hopefully so, it was really cool. I got my right up to the nest, but they didn't feel threatened because it is very protected. They have plenty of exits, it was a perfect nest for them :D

I remember, how I was once cleaning the perimeter of our property for fencing and while using the motor sythe in the deep vegetation on rocky soil, I felt a hot sting on my thigh, thinking it was a little stone that hit me, but after a second burning hit I looked closer and saw, that I was standing in the middle of a whildly buzzing swarm of wasps. Man, I threw the mashine to the gound and ran for my life.... screaming! HAHAHA. I was so afraight. Took me some time to calm down and build up courage to go back an fetch my motor sythe. Later i found out, that I sythed right over the entrance of a wasp earth nest and of course these guys where very unhappy!

Ground nests are the worst. I stepped into one by my wood pile a few years back. Same experience. The first sting just felt like maybe a branch or something poked me, but then it got worse and I witnessed about 10 hornets swarming my leg. I ran like a mad man into the house. It's not fun stepping into nests. I actually had a colony form in one my hugel beds this past year. I'll need to figure out a solution come spring. Good thing I have a bee suit :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52