You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Edible Weeds: Amaranth (various Amaranth species)

God. Who would call that plant weed!?!!?
I will copy paste a comment I already posted on @mountainjewel Amaranth post about 15 days ago:
I remember a teacher of my online PDC report, that he was planting millet (that I think is similar to amaranth?) randomly in his garden, to attrackt birds. They would leave their droppings, eat some insects on the way and leave other crops alone, that would be endangered to be "attacked" as well. He took it to a level, that he called millet a nitrogenfixer becaue of the ammount of nitrogen rich droppings, the birds would leave :).
Here is the video:

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing that, @my-permaculture! It is a great example of how we can find a resource or service thats just sitting there, doing its thing even without us knowing it.

I've always let our grain plants self seed to attract birds to work as pest control. At this time of year, everyone here is complaining about blackbirds digging up their gardens. Not me...I've realised that where I have blackbirds, I have well turned mulch and far fewer pests - our chickens could take a lesson from them!

We dont specifically grow grain crops, our space is far too small for that and needs to be put to other day ses, but we appreciate the beauty of grain plants so let them grow from birdseed and chook feed. Theyre only annuals too, so will make space for something else when the seasons changed.

Our chicken could take a lesson from them...

HAHA!
Thank you for your answer @ligayagardener.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54