You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Experimenting in the garden: Interplanting cover crops and bucket greenhouses

"The dogs can't trample them" LOL amen to that! I'm glad you found a solution to keep the slugs off the seedlings. I really like your raised garden beds! I'm hoping we can get around to building one this year.

Sort:  

The raised beds are nice to work with, especially because we have clay soil. The in ground beds have been built up and amended with all kinds of compost and cover crops but it takes such a lot of patience to get the soil loamy enough to produce well. We've been working on it for three years.

Molly is terrible for thinking everything is for her enjoyment! The new garden in ground garden is not fenced yet and they run through it. sometimes they walk the path nicely and others they forget and start wrestling in one of the beds.

We set up some step in posts and I'm about to run the wire so we can set up the electric fence if the wire does not deter them. I think one zap from that and they'll never go in it again. (lol). Seriously. I hate the electric fencer so much.

That's why all our gardens are fenced, to keep the critters from destroying our hard work. I'm glad I have not had to resort to electric, so far the barrier fences have worked well for decades.

Frequently heard (as in, daily) words around here: "those dang dogs" and "GET OUT OF THERE YOU DINGBATS!" Ha, I still love them :) I would think that the electric fence would be a great deterrent.

I need a raised bed just so I can have one place on the whole property that doesn't grow rocks!

They are pretty smart and I think they can sense the electricity so I am quite sure having it on for a few days will be enough to send a message. Molly stuck her nose on it once when we had the pigs and she's never forgotten.

Lol ...we grow rocks too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56