Sort:  

Beef steak and Arkansas travelers have been our go to crop for the last 4 years and Beef steak was what I grew up growing. We switched because we are looking for a tomato with more meat. If we find one with more meat we can possibly plant less (not likely since family is growing) in the future or at least not expand our garden. Do you have a favorite variety?

No, I'm on the hunt for better (meatier!) tomatoes too. My Husband bought a bunch of different varieties last year and none of them did particularly well; and they were SO watery when I tried canning them. All my canned diced tomatoes are mostly juice! I intend to try growing Amish Paste this year for canning, and haven't decided on a slicing tomato for fresh eating, but the Husband is partial to the Better/Big Boy types.

Thanks for sharing, I hope we are not disappointed with our change. I will make a mental note to cut some apart and show them on a post.

Ponderosas are not overly meaty. They are really juicy, but they won’t let you down. You’ll really enjoy them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44