How much cheaper is homemade cereal? A cost analysis (and recipe!) of making cranberry-almond-coconut granola, to mimic Special K Nourish.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

The thing I most dislike about buying boxed cold cereal is the cost! You can get around the cost by buying it in large quantities when you can stack coupons on top of a good sale--BUT I also dislike storing a dozen boxes of cereal on the floor of my pantry. Not everybody has that kind of space. There has to be a better way, I said to myself...

4.jpg

Why not finally try making my own? I've been meaning to anyway, for forever.

Granted, I can't reproduce the little crunchy wheat flakes in cereals like Special K, let alone Cheerios' little oat rings and such, but for me the point of having "cold cereal" on hand is the convenience of a quick meal, so I can live without those details. And granted, granola has been a "thing" for forever, so it's not like I thought of something revolutionary. BUT--Is there really a cost savings in making it yourself, instead of buying it already boxed?

My sister recommended Taste of Home's My Favorite Granola as the one she liked best, so I went to Kroger with the purpose of somewhat reproducing Special K's cranberry almond coconut Nourish in granola form as an experiment.

Here is how I adjusted the recipe:
INGREDIENTS
2.5 cups oats
1/2 cup coconut
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/3 cup slivered almonds
1/8 cup quinoa
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 cup water
1/3 cup canola oil
3 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons honey
(ETA: I also added 1/4-1/2 tsp cinnamon due to personal preference, but didn’t count it in the math.)

(Having literally never used quinoa before in my life, I was dubious about that addition...but science demanded it. Here goes.)

2.jpg

DIRECTIONS
Combine first 6 ingredients in a large bowl. In a small saucepan, combine remaining ingredients and cook over medium heat 2-3 minutes until sugar dissolves. Pour over oat mixture and toss to coat. Spread on a greased 15"x10"x1" pan (though I recommend a larger cookie sheet with high sides) and bake at 300 degrees for 30-40 minutes, stirring once midway through baking. Remove from oven and place pan on wire rack; cool granola on pan completely. Store in an airtight container.

1.jpg

Yummy! I have cereal! Was it worth it? Now for the cost analysis part.

3.jpg

The way I made this was by utilizing Kroger's bulk bins to get the oatmeal, quinoa, cranberries, and almonds, in the exact amounts I needed (and with the assumption that bulk is cheaper). Then I went around the store getting pictures of the price tags for the other ingredients. I purposely used the NON-SALE prices of "typical" middle-of-the-road brands; not generic, but not top dollar organic either. Using the recommended serving sizes on the packages, I calculated how much, say, the oil cost per tablespoon, and then multiplied that by the number of tablespoons required in the recipe, to figure out exactly how much the amount of every ingredient cost (except the salt. I considered that a freebie.)

I can't believe Steemit has me voluntarily doing this much math...

That came out to a batch (about 4 cups) costing $3.15 to make at home. But wait, my time is worth something, right? I spent ~10 minutes on making this, and at federal minimum wage that adds $1.20. So now the overall cost is $4.35. Hm. Well, that's still literally a cost savings.

So in the interest of yet more science, I went to Walmart.com and looked up all the Great Value ingredients. Going generic straight across the board brings the batch cost down to $2.00, and even with the $1.20 factored in the cost per batch is just $3.20.

9.jpg
Yes, I originally calculated it without the almonds. You can imagine how well I did with word problems in high school algebra.

BUT WAIT! THERE'S MORE! (best infomercial voice)

8.jpg

... this batch of granola made 19 ounces. Therefore, the cost per ounce breaks down to:
Special K: 35 cents
Homemade with non-generic ingredients: 23 cents
Homemade with Great Value ingredients: 16 cents

Conclusion:

Yup, homemade is cheaper. Now I know exactly how much cheaper.

Some other considerations:
--As for the cost, barring the quinoa and cranberries, I keep every single one of the other ingredients stocked in my pantry as staples anyway, and I always buy them on sale and/or with coupons. So I would save even more than I calculated today.
--As for the homemade aspect, I really enjoy cooking and baking, so the "my time is worth something" factor goes out the window if making one's own granola serves a hobby/enjoyment purpose rather than seeming like work.
--Oh, and an additional bonus is reclaiming pantry storage space from an army of cereal boxes!

And now, I am off to top yogurt with some of my tasty batch of granola, and enjoy a well-deserved snack. Thank you for reading, and enjoy your evening!

Sort:  

Miamm !

This post gets the #healthy-home seal of approval.

We have made homemade cereal many many times (though none recently sad face).

We use many bulk upper end ingredients (stuff that is cost effective to ship in medium size units) from Amazon(we have prime). With these bulk items and sale items.. We have almost always made a tastier, better quality(partial organic) and much cheaper product.

So we concur that it is worth it to make it yourself.....at least if you do some bulk sourcing and you would normally try to buy Organic anyway.

Great job and thank you for sharing!!

Thank you so much! I hadn't thought of looking for bulk items on Amazon Prime :)

Excellent post! In our house though, I think the problem we would have is a distribution problem. Your cereal appears more dense, so when my kids would go to pour it in the bowl, we'd probably eat more for a "full bowl" effect. Do you find that to be true in your house? Corporations have a purpose for injecting air and "puffing" the volume (ie, why you don't want to take up so much storage space buying cereal) but we've adjusted to that in our psyche, so I think we'd have to make an adjustment for it to really be apples to apples... or craisins to craisins if you will.

You definitely can eat a smaller bowl of it and feel full. You’re totally right though—you do have to make that mental adjustment. I remember being younger and pouring a full bowl of boxed granola the way I’d do with regular cereal, and not being able to finish it. Maybe serve it in a smaller bowl :)

Well, like I said, great post. Keep stuff like this coming. I'm sending it to my wife!

If you pour an adjusted amount... Then load it up with Yogurt... It wont be an issue.

  • One idea!?!

Ha! My kids eat that as a dessert snack already! :) but it's absolutely a great idea!

GREAT post and pics! What I would say is the BEST part of making your own cereal is that you KNOW what is in it and your family is better off eating a healthier option in the long run. So many boxed cereals contain HORRIBLE ingredients that hurt our bodies even though they may taste so yummy in your tummy. You Mom well! :)

Thank you! And you’re right, that’s a major benefit! Now if I could just get my kids to quit being picky :-/

It takes a few meals of putting their dinner back into the fridge with no other snacks if they don't eat... they always eat it eventually when they get hungry. :)

You haven't met Pixie. She will gladly go hungry in the interest of stubborness! I've implemented "earning" a small dessert for at least trying new things, and it's slowly beginning to work...

They grow up so quickly though. Enjoy those moments... :)

I'm trying to reduce my plastic consumption so I was curious how I could still have cereal without buying a box (that inevitably includes the plastic bag inside)! This is so cool, I definitely want to try making my own cereal now!

Speaking of plastic bags, if you do buy bulk ingredients in them, they could easily be saved and reused...line out some of the barcode with a Sharpie and there you have the item number as long as you put the same thing in the bag again. Or put a new sticker over the old one :)DF726D30-980A-49B1-A1D7-568EC66D8598.jpeg

Good idea! I plan on using mason jars and cloth bags for most shopping but this is so much better than just pitching the plastic after using it once!

A woman after my own heart! Thank you for the recipe. Quinoa. That was a bold addition, I like it!
"I can't believe Steemit has me voluntarily doing this much math..."
That made me laugh out loud, I agree. The things I've done for Steemit lately.....

...like exploring creepy old houses? ;-) I’m glad I made you laugh :)
Quinoa was bold but I don’t think I’ll be including it in future batches. It adds a little too much crunch for my taste.

Exactly like that ;-)
Copy that on the quinoa! Thank you:)

Wow! Great job. It's never crossed my mind to make my own cereal.

Thank you! Having tried it, I’m not going back!

Hi! @mtnmeadowmomma! Just as my name implies, I say "You're Welcome" to unrequited thank you comments. So, even if they didn't respond, I wanted to take this opportunity to say that you're welcome!. As an added bonus, I will be visiting you blog to find a post to resteem just because! :) Cheers!

AWESOME job!!!!

When my kids were little they could go through 4 boxes of cereal a week... it nearly bankrupted me!

It drives me crazy! I’m always looking for ways to trim the grocery bill and get so annoyed by how cereal will undo that! Thank you for the resteem :)

Having literally never used quinoa before in my life, I was dubious about that addition...but science demanded it. Here goes...

This made me LOL!

😊 Having now used quinoa once in my life...it’s safe to say that number isn’t going any higher, haha :)

Yum yum yum! I would love to give this a try!

It’s tasty! I’m not crazy about the quinoa overall, but it does add a crackly crunch if you like extra variety in texture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54