Homestead Happenings at Mountain Meadow (part 2, gardening and paint!)

I adore my Husband, and this is why: When his impulsive delightfully spontaneous (ha!) wife decided after 7 PM that she could get 20 berry plants in the ground before the kids' bathtime, he voluntarily grabbed a large shovel and dug the holes for the plants, instead of complaining about the terrible timing, the sprinkling rain, or the fact that he had already worked hard all day.

Well, I adore him for more things than helping me plant berries, but that's just an example of how he loves me :)

IMG_6769.jpg
All photos in this post are mine.


Potatoes!

Backing up a little bit from my berry-planting victory, though, one word has been defining--and defying--our gardening efforts for the past week: RAIN!!! It's been constant. (It's raining now.) At the outset of this rainy spell, the Husband bought potatoes to cut up and plant, and one evening, we raced a rainstorm to get them planted.

IMG_6746.jpg
It started out nice and sunshiny. #Homesteadphotography contest entry.

IMG_6755.jpg
Kid-approved gardening activity: flinging larger rocks over the fence into the hayfield. We have so many rocks, Little Man is getting the practice to become an awesome baseball pitcher at this rate

Planting "taters" is kind of the Husband's pet project, but I've observed the basics while helping. Cut up the potatoes, making sure each piece has an "eye" or two. Dig a trench, place potatoes in it with eyes facing up, cover them up with dirt, and then add extra dirt over the top to create a hill. As the potatoes grow, the Husband will add more dirt at some point to make the hill bigger, ensuring none of the developing potatoes get exposed to sunlight.

IMG_6757.jpg
Elsa is grub hunting. Notice my still bare berry patch area in the background.

IMG_6763.jpg
Looks like rain...

IMG_6765.jpg
Covering the rows and raking more dirt over the top. We beat the rain!

The Husband is worried now about all the daily rain causing the potatoes to rot before they can start growing. Unfortunately, there isn't anything we can do except hope for the best, and replant later if necessary.


Paint!

My heart has been singing about this!! When we bought this house, all the paint colors were dark and/or bold colors. I've lived in neutral and/or light colored houses all my life, and feel much more at home in light and airy rooms. Living among colors I'd have never chosen for myself, I could never really shake the feeling that this wasn't 100% MY house. (This isn't criticism of other folks' tastes; I think darker colors are just fine in other people's houses, haha.)

The "before" photos here are from our walkthrough before buying the house, so they have the previous owner's furniture in them. Dining room before:
IMG_4779.jpg

Dining room after; it's now the playroom/computer room:
IMG_6940.jpg
This looks cream in natural light. Still have to hang the pictures back up.

Foyer/sewing room area before:
IMG_4778.jpg

After:
IMG_6950-1.jpg
Starring Miss Hollywood! The kitchen went from yellow to the same pale violet blue that's on the lower part of the wall.

Probably the biggest change was getting rid of the dark red paint in the oversized living room, which was the original hunting camp on this site! Before:
IMG_4772.jpg
Looking at the other side of the house, you can see that dark clay red and brown again, and yellow kitchen.

After:
IMG_7055.jpg

We still have to finish putting things back together...hang pictures and put curtains back up, etc. The whole thing got me on a spring cleaning and "get rid of stuff" kick, which has resulted in a giant donation/yard sale pile in the living room (which is why my "after" photo is off center, lol). It's a wonderful feeling to "trim the fat" of STUFF.


Berries!

So we got the potatoes planted, proceeded to get the house painted, and then as I mentioned in the beginning, we got the berry plants in the ground. (Potatoes, berries, and 3 herb plants I bought today are the whole extent of our garden at the moment.) I was in a hurry because they were shipped to us and had arrived the previous day, so I didn't want the bare roots to dry out. What was really cute is how the kids eagerly pitched in and helped plant them. I got no photos of that, because I'd left my phone in the house :(

IMG_6962.jpg
Oh look, it looks like...guess what?

IMG_6958.jpg
Promising little blackberry plant!

I bought 2 bales of straw at the farm supply store and then hauled them around in the car for a few days, so my Subaru smells like a barn. At least it smells like a clean barn ;) This morning we went to the flea market and got some plants (don't ask about my attempt to grow seedlings. I apparently have a lot to learn) and this afternoon, I hauled the straw and herbs over to the garden and spread the straw over the berry patch, to deep mulch it.

The Husband and I differ in opinion on gardening methods; he prefers tilling to mulching. I figure the best way of (hopefully) convincing him is to show him, so here goes!

IMG_6994.jpg
Sunscreen, hat, and EO bug spray...I'm ready to work!

If you envision the berry patch divided into three equal lengthwise strips, I covered the outer two strips with weed barrier, and left the middle uncovered. (As I get a hold of cardboard, I'll pull the straw back and lay cardboard over the dirt.) Then I put sawdust over the barrier along the fence to create a path for myself on that side, and hoping to discourage rogue weeds from wandering through. The straw went over the middle strip and berries, as well as the strip along the grass inside the garden area.

IMG_7026.jpg
I had to dig through the straw to find the much shorter blackberries afterward, and create nests around them.

The kids deemed it too hot to help Mommy, and quickly ditched me to go play in the shady sand pile on the side of the barn. The chickens were most happy to keep me company--and despite having a whole garden area to poke around in, the dingbats were super determined to investigate only the sawdust and straw and fling it everywhere. I had to periodically drop what I was doing to grab the rake and shoo them away.

IMG_7037.jpg
Beautiful light, and the rain held off all afternoon!

IMG_7039.jpg
Ran out of straw (and energy) at the end, but no big deal, because this last bit is going to be planted with more herbs.


Just to end on a cute note, the kiddos figured out that Teamwork means they can get the barn door open all by themselves, and they are so proud of that. I don't know if it's a good or bad thing that this concept has clicked in their heads! (I know it's good...but there sure is potential for mischief, too!)

IMG_7054.jpg

Sort:  

Please CLONE that man and immediately forward to Chiang Mai, Thailand. haha. Being the solo-entrepreneurial mom means a lot of things don't happen due to the sheer grunt work and time required. But I am INSPIRED by what you share!! PS I can pay the shipping for the clone. Or you could stay in our guestroom for a free Thai holiday and loan him for a few hours of garden time each day. :) :)

I forwarded this to him and he got a huge kick out of it!! :) The hilarious part is that I'd said recently "it would be neat to go visit Thailand again one day" (you know, as a pipe dream thing, and not on a Navy port call) so his response was "of all places!🤣"

Just call with your ETA and I shall put fresh linen in the spare room, and oil-sharpen the shovel. haha... we have lots of floor space for misc children. Serious offer!! :)

What a busy homesteading life... Beautiful Mrs Hollywood!

She is a beauty all right! I love a preschooler's idea of fashion :)

And the team work! Hahaha... They're smart🤗

I'm so impressed! I'm a twin mama (they're 3.5 yo boys) and there is no way I'd get half that much accomplished. Love the photos, and your homestead is super inspiring. Also like the way the new paint brightened up the house. I found you through @inthenow's Got Your Six contest. Glad I meandered over here to read about your world. 💖

Thank you so much! Always nice to "meet" a fellow twin mom :) so I'm glad you did, too!

This is such a fun post. I love the way you write; another ummm delightfully spontaneous homesteading wife! Your feathered gardening helpers look a little like ours and equally as un-helpful! Looking forward to seeing those berries bear fruit. Except for our Cape Gooseberry we really struggle with berries here

Thank you so much! I appreciate that!! I think the world just needs delightful spontaneity to make it interesting, and that's what we're here for :)))

Yeah, I have not had much luck growing seedlings this year either. I will try again next year and see how it goes. The rain here has been unrelenting also I know we need it but it slows progress. LOL

I just wish it was spread out a bit more over time! I know that later in summer we're going to be lamenting, "WE NEED RAIN!"

Yes, and none will be in the forecast. LOL

Your garden and berry patch are looking very good! We were fighting the rain, but we finally got ours out. Whew!

I know when those blackberries start coming in that you are going to really enjoy them. We have about 6-10 and they are great. We are looking into adding a few raspberries this year as well, so we will see if that gets done. Haha! Great Job!

Thank you! I'm really looking forward to munching on juicy berries, hopefully next year! The little plants are leafing out nicely!

First my haha, Doing a quick scroll through the pics before going back and reading... I thought you were planting chicken eggs when I first saw that pic of... ... potatoes! haha

  • What a view!
  • Cute kids!

Oh my! That would be too funny, trying to get a bigger egg crop :))) Thank you, too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56