Eye Heart Homesteading Week 1.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

#EHO-logo-for-steemit.jpg

Hello fellow steemians. I must apologize for taking so long to make this post. It's been a busy week here on the 'stead. We've got much to prepare for. I won't go into too much detail about individual projects here as I'm also managing our wordpress blog and it's proving a bit mentally cumbersome to keep up with that as well as podcasting and financial responsibilities at the same time.

This week, the weather was on our side. Lord knows we needed it. Since just after new years we've dealt with a virus making its way around the household, a fair amount of snow, difficulty keeping our buildings heated, a glutenous dog, an exorbitant electric bill, legal woes and a considerable amount of emotional turmoil. Another obstacle I face is not having a solid connection to the internet from the barn. We know how to remedy that; money's tight. Soon.

A day at #EHO

Day at #EHO I.jpg

The first nice day we had it was all hands on deck. We got most of the barn cleaned up and organized. Matter of fact, it was so nice out I had the big barn doors open all day to air it out and get the energy flowing. I'd originally planned to break this old box-spring apart and use it as kindling. Then i realized how long I had been researching how to make upcycled raised beds out of box-springs. THEN, one of our partners, Brandon Estrella, suggested I make it vertical. Voila!

I started this weird little composting experiment a number of weeks ago that we all thought was kinda silly. I had our no-till soil guru, @scrogboss, bring me a few hefty handfuls of the soil he'd been building for almost 3 years now with a bunch of worms. My idea was to mix a bunch of our food scraps with it and put it in glass jars with holes in the lids. I though I could start little compost "seeders" so to speak. I was supposed to keep checking on them and giving them a little water. I did that once and got caught up whit other shit. We figured the worms had died. I'm happy to report they're alive and well probably reproducing in our new compost pile by the brook!

The kids were out and about all day. They made these little wooden habitats for a pet snail my daughter Lily found that she named Bubbles. She said every time she touched him he made bubbles. Poor little guy. We've decided to dedicate the raised beds that are already behind the house to the kids. Lily and I were up late one night talking about what they should grow. She decided she wants to grow tomatoes so that she can make and bottle ketchup. She wants to call it Lily's Organic Non-GMO Locally Sourced, Natural, Zero Waste Ketchup. My wife is supposed to be managing the Eye Heart Kids steemit, but she typed her email wrong the day she signed up so we're working on fixing that. Stay tuned...

Another day at #EHO

Day at #EHO II.jpg

On day 2 we busted ass. The kids spent the day riding their cars and bikes around the property. The dogs had a swim in the brook. And Mary, Dennis and our CEO, Mark Bifulco, finally got around to building the beds for our cannabis in the big greenhouse. Wait until you see what's gonna grow in there! All of our seeds and spores arrive tomorrow.

Results

Cleaning Kit 1.jpg

Meanwhile, I delivered, as promised, 2 of the first products that will be featured in our all-in-one zero waste cleaning kits. What you see pictured is the multi-surface cleaner made with vinegar, citrus and tea tree oil and laundry soap made from borax, washing soda and Fels-Naptha. I should mention that I'm perfectly willing to trade any of our merchandise for steem. Leave a comment if you're interested and we can chat on #Discord. This week I'll be sure to get us a spot at each of the local farmer's markets to peddle our cleaning kits and demonstrate how to's. I've also got to finish designing a pamphlet and take a walk over to the town book bindery to see if we can get them to do some sustainable printing.

As I stated above, I'm not gonna inundate you with every detail. Just know that we're pluggin' away over here. The bills are behind and the vehicles need maintenance, and yet we're in good spirits. We know the hard times are only there to make you appreciate the fruits of your perseverance. I should know. My family has come a long way in our spiritual growth and intellectual development. We're in a place where we can finally put much of what we've studied and remained passionate about into practice. There's no going backwards now. The road to sustainability is paved with responsibility. Relationships are being nurtured. Our eyes have seen, our hearts are inspired, our bonds are organic and as the mantra says, "Here we grow, Together we bloom".


If you enjoy the music I curate and content I create, please visit & follow on these platforms:

Patreon
Sola
Thank you for your continued support.

Your contributions help keep the #EHO homestead afloat as well as fund my personal fight against the War on "Drugs".

I'd like to dedicate this post to 2 very special human beings, @wwf & @johnvibes.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Movement19 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I do an organization called Artists Against Monsanto... We should talk!

Skullberries.gif

I'm not so much into being involved with movements or protests, but there are causes I wold support and yours is one. The best way I can help other than raising awareness via social media is to have you as a guest on my podcast.

Yes! Let me get my audio gear and be ready in a week or two... And also, you being you and doing what you do is supporting everyone who is against Monsanto... Actually if you want a mindblower take a listen to The Eatles... 2 members of the EU Parliament recently tweeted this song... It was a not-for-profit food parody, like a DIY Mandela Effect...

I saw this the other day!

Okay, so no mindblow, LOL... I am currently shopping for the gear I gave away before I went to live in China... No learning curve, so I should be ready to roll very soon... Meanwhile there is lots of organic food to grow and eat and drool over!!

This is wonderfully observant of some nasty stuff😂 awesome the eatles

I also made a coloring book for kids! Just download and print!!

Butterfly (with logo).jpg

Where's the link for that put some copies on @steembay I bet people be stoked on it

This is more of an open source project... To save world not make money...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48