How To! Epic Thornless Blackberry Planting (DTube Video)

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Growing blackberries for free!!

TriplecrownBlackberries400.jpg
(Yum Yum Triple Crown!)

In this video I go through a little on site selection, bed layout, how I construct mini terraces and planting tips.


Check out this video of me planting thornless blackberries (triple crown variety). I got all 120 row feet of blackberries for FREE. I dug them from a friend's neglected patch. Blackberries are a vigorous and hardy species that tip layers, meaning that the tip of the canes will root if they get the chance. That means it multiplies all on its own!

Hope you enjoy!

P.s. Forgot to mention that I gave them a good soaking post planting to settle any air gaps in the soil.

images.jpeg
(Triple Crown)

A little bit about Triple Crown Variety from Starkbros.com:

A unique flavor that has garnered rave reviews! This productive plant yields berries that offer a tasty blend of sweetness and tartness. The fruit is borne uniformly, so it is easy to pick. Thornless semi-erect canes may need support under heavy fruit load. Summer-bearing floricane. Late season. Heat-tolerant. Ripens in early August. Self-pollinating.

MJ Banner .jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Resteeming so I can find this again when my own blackberry plants get shipped later this spring :) thanks for posting!

awesome so glad you found it helpful!!! Have fun when your plants arrive! excited for you. planting fruit is so satisfying <3

Blackberries are delicious! They grow like weeds around here, so you don't need to plant them. You'll have more than you want without even trying. :D Pies for days!

Yes! Haha pies for days indeed! And probably mead and wines too ;) It's so good to cultivate that abundance, huh?!

Nice! We have 100 blackberry plants coming to us from the Department of Conservation at the beginning of April. So looking forward to planting them! They aren't the thornless variety, but they still taste great and are worth a prick or two!

Woah! Yes you will be out the ears with blackberries! Congrats, guys :) <3

Nice!! Good timing. I will be planting some Raspberries tomorrow. Thank you.

Hello @mountainjewel it is nice post, I like it, and I re-steem your post as well. dyou know this kind of berries
Post.jpg

it color is dark blue, and the taste is sweet. it grow wildly above 2500 Mtr above sea level in Aceh-Indonesia

I am definitely coming back to this post and your profile later this year when I start setting up my garden. Awesome! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50