Midsummer Beauty

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

9352ECEF-3D76-4464-BF7B-AEC9A2FF253F.jpeg

"Always press your bare feet to the ground and listen to what the earth says and what it has to give you for the day. She always has something, but you have to listen to receive it" from Radiance of Tomorrow a book I just finished last night by Ishmael Beah.

8B0FC4BF-246A-4594-B4EA-117ED42675F0.gif

made my first gif today! (And yeah it looks like she totally got me, but I swear there was no tongue involved!

I started off my day today well rested. The energies from the Full Moon and eclipse seemed to be clearing and I mean literally, as I felt a desire to clean and move energy around today! My day started off with some flower art that you see above, relating to this wonderful quote I came across in the book I finished yesterday (which was a very good book, I cried plenty of times and it touched my spirit.) As I was weeding and clearing, of course our dog Luci came and gave me a good nuzzle. I captured it on my Instagram stories and decided to make a .gif, it was such a cute moment!

C06CF09B-BFA2-4308-9E76-39DBEF9BE0FF.jpeg

chop and drop comfrey

I set about the homestead, doing one section at a time. Because I do all of the clearing by hand it is quite laborious. I went in with my Japanese rice knife (serrated sickle) and chopped down the plants that I didn't want (in this case smartweed, a few extra sacred datura (they reseed easily and tho I love them, 1 or 2 is enough), and some plants that I am unfamiliar with but decided to take out). Comfrey, as we have talked about many times before, is one of the mainstay Permaculture plants as its roots go faaaaaar into the soil collecting (trace) minerals and nutrients which then collect in the leaves. To say it has a strong root is an understatement and the "chop and drop" method of cutting its leaves multiple times per season and placing them directly on the soil as a mulch that will slowly decompose (or making a compost tea out of them) is highly recommended.

1226040B-362B-4DC5-93D7-447BF0D8AA49.jpeg

Goumi, Tulsi, Asparagus, Wild False Indigo

The comfrey is on the other side of this bed which also contains the plants in the description below the picture (plus a few others ;)) This is a bed I did a walk through of earlier in the season via a DTube vid if anyone recollects that ... it has filled out quite a bit, which is exciting!

Shots of the Homestead

855B79B9-6AA9-4EF8-9D00-E972CF02AC57.jpeg

C48B241F-0615-4C95-865F-DA5A148F5D3E.jpeg

8FE8A47C-87BE-4086-A468-B6531EEF1A1A.jpeg

cosmos

1D34D350-4D8B-4F86-9C77-DD15998BF194.jpeg

Zinnia

CD8EDD7C-D8DA-4E63-902F-778B18B11F93.jpeg

cockscomb (it reseeds! I love the red hints)

3F58F3E3-499E-44DB-9DF5-0E6848A53F65.jpeg

308A3BCA-4C60-4DE1-AEC2-CDD03DFE7287.jpeg

can you spot the hummingbird photobomb

Ini worked on the High Tunnel all day framing out one of the end walls. It was a gorgeous day that started off a bit cool and then warmed up with a beautiful blue cloud-filled sky with plenty of sun. I was kind of worn out from the weeding, cleaning of the yurt and chop and dropping so I read Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achabe.

Veggies & Beauty

EB81358B-6AE1-4DD9-AC76-FC6EF69FF234.jpeg

the most beautiful corn silk.. i am in love!

2DB3ECC5-05E2-417C-86D9-DD7E37F8D6AA.jpeg

purple pod pole beans

As I walked around the garden I truly felt blessed ... Sometimes homesteading life feels very difficult and at other times, I can see all of the beauty surrounding me (that we often have a hand in) and I feel so grateful. It leads me to give thanks!!

DD4EF211-5BA5-4506-95EF-9C7FC7A443C1.jpeg

cup plant - it holds water!!

0FD1CEF4-6BE1-4099-B860-5142FB06C2EE.jpeg

another gorgeous butterfly on the now blooming anise hyssop!


440404A3-57A6-46A7-A60D-835876C29B79.jpeg

Ini on the line... in his own words “Many hours of slack lining have prepared me for this moment where the high tunnel asked me to do a kilt pole dance. I agreed.”

And..... kittens!

C9A43104-FAE4-45EE-A2CD-C0B59805F93E.jpeg

mountainjewelbanner.jpg

Sort:  

I can't believe you were able to catch that hummingbird mid-flight! Everything is so green and luscious. Your flowers are as I imagined, beautiful! Looks like you guys had a productive day (as always) :) ox

oh wow that was such a lucky shot!!! haha, it was perfect. <3 yes we've been quite productive lately. excited for a little rest after we finish the high tunnel. this peak of summer business isn't messing around ;) xoxo

Great and full post. You guys are content creating machines. So many good photos of flowers especially with butterflies and guest hummingbird. Your corn looks lovely, strawberry blond? I noticed it by the end of the high tunnel. We have a store in Brentwood, California which is known for its sweet corn. I was up there last week and the fields of corn are tasseled - so pretty.

content creating machines

Ha, they are aren't they? Let alone all the other things they do!!!

<3 xoxoxo luckily we often work as a duo.

haha thanks steven. really appreciate your support! isn't that corn just amazing. it's glass gem corn (see our post from today for more photos of it), although some of the silks are different colors, which is such a beautiful diversity. that's awesome about the sweet corn near you :)

Oh I love this post so much. What a beautiful day. INI!!! Digging that pole dancing!! What an amazing job.. you are truly AWESOME.

I loved Things Fall Apart it's one of my favourite books. I wondered if that what Ini was referencing when he wrote that song with the didgeridoo. What did you think of it ??

You know how much I love Comfrey and drop it all over the garden. The orange flowers are just gorgeous. I just sprinkled a whole heap of Calendula seeds all over my garden just in case last year's didn't self seed haha Can't Get Enough yellow flowers they're totally the best little drops of sunshine all over the garden. This post makes me feel like I was there right with you. Everything is looking so divine. What an inspiration oh my god I can't wait to see spring. Love you guys !! !!

hahah he rocks anything at a height. he's truly amazing up there pole dancing in his kilt! should've gotten a vid ;)

i actually made that title for his post- but yeah it was inspired by the book (which i'm just now reading!)

mmmm everyone says calendula is so easy to grow, but i have had a hard time with it each year!!! i think i'll try this direct sow method you're talking about! i tried in trays this spring and they didn't transplant well! i am so wanting those little drops of sunshine all over the garden for next year.

love you too!!!

This post is the best! I just feel like I've visited your place and I love it. You had me at flower art and puppy kisses but throwing in kittens,cup plants and all the rest of mountain jewels magic through your eyes and I was completely mesmerized. ♥

aw you're so sweet!!! i love that! hahah xo

Loved this tour of your homestead. Liked the glimpses of the high tunnel throughout. What a shot, catching a hummingbird photobomb!

A really liked your opening photo. :))

hahah what a photobomb! thank you <3

Your posts are always like the breath of fresh air one wants to feel energized. Love the flower art!

thank you so much for this comment <3 i love sharing this work and hearing that!!! makes it so worth while xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53