Kissing the Summer Farewell

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

669DE04F-A0BB-491F-9546-81DCDA168519.jpeg

Coming back to the homestead after some time spent away makes for a lot of abundance!

To be honest, there was too much abundance. I just ignored it the first two days due to overwhelm! Slowly I started picking things-- like the peppers you saw yesterday. Today it was time to "deal with" the tomatoes.

Sometimes tomatoes make me feel a little grossed out. One of the main pests they attract, the hornworm, is one of the worst bugs in the garden. In fact, and don't judge me here, I wont even touch the things. I call Ini over or cut them in half with my pruners! It's gruesome and horrible, but I just can't stand it. They're the most muscular bugs around... and they ooze pure bright green guts -- from all of the tomato plant of yours that they've eaten!

Many of our plants did get chewed up quite a bit while we were gone by these guys. But we still had a pretty good harvest on.

Onto the stove for some salsa!

68BFEDDA-C5AE-488A-8594-D3CDD49FF9EA.jpeg

For my birthday my mom got me a breadmaker!

She's so sweet- she had heard me upset about my lack of oven for long enough. It really is a blessing to have! I popped in a rye loaf today and 3 hours later it was finished...

Sadly, we had to take 2 of our chickens today. One was actually my favorite bird, Myrtle... That one was hard to do. But I thanked her for her spirit and presence on the homestead and explained to her that we just couldn't have her around anymore cuz she and her friend were digging around the fruit trees down to the roots-- exposing the roots! They'd already killed some berry plants and I just couldn't lose a 1.5 year old fruit tree to their scratching. We had to take the main culprits...

And onto the stove they went! Chicken soup is one of my favorite things as it starts to get cold outside.

E49B7E45-DE88-4FA7-82D7-D8E3F315F02C.jpeg

As the salsa bubbled away and reduced down...

8FBD589E-322D-4B8F-A359-9BDCE30A542E.jpeg

I took some photos of more seasonal harvests from our area.

You got it!, we got more Paw Paws!

Haha, you know we love these. We're enjoying them so much. Talk about them every day... Are so glad that we planted a bunch of them already and we plan to do more. Incredible, incredible fruit..

And guess what else is ripe?!

3D394452-3B79-48E8-8326-FCA7C399A70C.jpeg

Persimmons!

We'll do a full post on these likely tomorrow, but these are another one of our favorite local fruits. As you can see from the pic, they're almost mushy - and this is how you want them.

If you pick them too early they'll be so astringent that you may be tempted to never try one again! Yet don't give up.. these are a delicacy of the midwest. Not an asian persimmon, but our native variety. They grow like weeds this year and I think the harvest will be pretty good. As I said, more on this tomorrow.

59918B32-18E5-4A14-8E2C-DBF9D06ABF5B.jpeg

We've been eating soup all day and some butter with a little bread.

Though we're "putting the garden to bed" in many ways, in others the homestead still feels very vigorous and alive. We have likely another month before the first frost.

I cleaned up the small high tunnel today by harvesting all of the tomatoes in there and taking the bushes out then amending the beds with blood meal and compost. Some leek babies were hanging out so I have to decide what to do with those.

It's been a bit of whirlwind coming back from vacation and it's been overwhelming at times. I'm trying to bring my relaxed, even detached, view I got when on vacation back to the homestead with me, but it's so easy to get sucked into everything. It's a practice for me to take small bites off of the list and to prioritize balancing activities. I hope I get better at that as my previous methods were pretty crazymaking.


Making - Sunday

Today definitely felt like a clearing and making day. Clearing energy feels good and creates room for Making! I started the day with a fire burning old paperwork and moved into the day seeing where the harvests were. There's a lot of energy to move on a homestead on any given day.

At least we eat really well!

Ciao!

Sort:  

Persimmons!!!!!!! Make a persimmon bread ;) I'll see about a recipe....amazing, amazing harvest you have...so jealous. What a bounty! Between the rye bread, tomatoes and pawpaws....sigh... Have you started the sourdough starter? oxox

We do have a lot of abundance around us, especially right now. Now we just gotta make it last. As for starter, we've soaked the leftover seeds and skins from pulping persimmons to kick start the sourdough culture with some wild yeast and sugar.

😙❤
YUMMY....!!!!!!!
(:

The hornworms ☹🤢.
So distructive to Tomatoes.

ya, those buggers eat so MUCH. I even tried frying them up to see how they tasted. They weren't good... I won't be doing that again.

Missing it already!

Posted using Partiko Android

We'll put some of the summer in our pantry and freezer to remember it by.

Salsa looks great! and the bread too. I like salsa on about anything. Bread or toast is actually pretty good or at least a good substitute for chips sometimes. Salads, soups, grilled meat... all good with some salsa. We make salsa with mango sometimes. I bet there are some interesting varieties you could come up with your fall fruit. Sorry about the chickens...

yes us too! had salsa with eggs tonight- a fav. mmm mango salsa! sounds incredible. yes for sure... we had a persimmon jalapeno sauce (chutney?) we made tonight... will be sharing that tomorrow :D

yeah it's okay about the chickens- a part of the life. i didn't grow up doing it.. but it's just a business decision at this point. i will always love myrtle and remember her, but not gonna just let her destroy my long-term fruit crops...

Did you make the butter?

That bread turned out beautifully!

I did wonder how you managed to get away during, what for us, is the very busiest of times on the homestead.

we do not make the butter- store bought! oil/fat/butter and salt are two of the main things we still buy.

the bread machine does do well!

yeah, we just needed to take that break to be able to handle the harvest- mental health break ;)

Yup, know the mental health break. My husband does that, by going deepsea fishing. But then, he doesn't "do" gardens....Just the animals.

Is raw milk available in your area? If so, there's a possiblity of there being raw cream available also.

We don't have dairy cows but do have an EXCELLENT organic farm in the area and in May and June we get raw cream and make our year's butter. It's got the highest nutrition, making it more than a fat. Last year 75+ lbs, this year just 50+ lbs.

Summers almost gone...
Nice tomatoes!

/FF

thanks! yes nearing its end....

But happy harvest times are here!
=)

/FF

What a beautiful way to send the summer off. Can't wait to read your post about the persimmons.

<3 thanks! made a persimmon post today.. and then tomorrow look forward to one on what we did with some of it :) what's ripening in your neck of the woods? i'll have to check your page out!

At first I thought your persimmions were apricots, which I also love!

I had an over abundance of tomatoes and I actually forgot to pick some and they have rotted on the vine, that's bad on my part, but many more still ripening.

I lost my brussel sprouts to an ingenious rabbit that found his way UNDER the fence and chicken wire after all and them all up as well as the corn stalks. Oh well, live and learn.

I almost bought a break maker, but shortly after went no carb and I'm sort of glad now as it might be harder with the ease of it on my counter :) That bread looks AMAZING! Eat an extra piece for me :)

persimmons are quite similar to apricots, but our tree is a few years away form bearing, so the wild fruits are a pretty good sit in :). Persimmons definitely have amore complex flavor though.

Sorry to hear about the brussel sprouts. A major lesson we've been dealing with is about letting go when (not if) things die, remembering that nature is abundant and it's OK is you don't get to all the bounty before it rots and returns to the Earth.

One extra piece coming up ;)

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.528 which ranks you at #1786 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91