Design for Moveable Chicken Housing- The Hoop Coop | Ragtag DIY Challenge Week 9 by @aunt-deb

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Here's my entry to a fun little design challenge hosted by @aunt-deb.

NINTH WEEK'S AVAILABLE RAGTAG RESOURCES

Pick Three

Four 2x6 Boards, 10' Long

Three 5' x 16' Cattle Panels

Twelve 12" x 12" x 2" Concrete Pavers

Four 5 Gal Plastic Buckets

TOOLS

Pick Three

Hammer ~ Saw ~ Drill ~ Shovel ~ Cart ~ Tin Snips ~ Wedge

Trowel ~ Rake ~ Post Hole Digger - T-Post Driver

Your choice on power or hand tools. Fasteners are freebies.

It got my brain juices flowing.

She tagged us last weekend and we thought we'd give a whirl. Given the pick of 3 tools and 3 resources the challenge is to create a project. Check out her post for details. I first thought I needed to actually build this project, and was happy It was just make believe. This week I have designed a hoop coop to house laying hens. It is light enough to to be moved by hand to get fresh forage to the birds.

IMG_5108.JPG
(source)

My Resource picks

  • 4 - 2x6x10' boards

  • 3 - 5'x16' cattle panels

  • 4 - five gallon buckets

Tools picks

  • saw

  • tin snips

  • drill

Project Hoop Coop

Step 1

Cut two 2x6 down to 8'

Step 2

Cut each of the four 2' off cuts to 45 degrees at each end (these will be used as corner braces).

Step 3

Screws the 8' and 10' boards together to create a 10'2"x8'2"square (I'm working with rough cut full 2" boards here). Check for square and install the four corner braces.

Step 4

Bend a section of cattle panel so that it sits on the inside of the frame and creates a dome. Screw it in with washers to hold it in place. Repeat for second section.

Step 5

Use the tin snips to cut the third panel in half lengthwise so that you end up with two 5'x8' sections. Fasten each section to the bottom of the frame and attach it to the hoop. Now you'll be looking at a pretty little enclosure.

Step 6

Now is the time cut the nesting boxes. Use the tin snips to cut a 1/3 of the sides from two of buckets. Lay them on their sides and throw some bedding in there for the ladies.

IMG_5109.JPG
(source)

Step 7

The last two buckets will be fashioned into a waterer and a feeder. With one bucket drill four 2" holes around the sides near the bottom of a bucket. This is where the birds will access their food. Assuming you have some bailer twine in your pocket (c'mon you know you do), tie the feeder to the middle of the hoop.

Step 8

Drill two 1/2 holes in the side near the bottom of last bucket. Screw in two watering nipples (I know it's not in the resources list, but you probably have extras anyway). Fill with water and hang like a feeder.

IMG_5110.JPG
(source)

Step

Do a dance for completing a hoop coop and find some birds to move in!

This design can easily be implemented in real life. In fact, we've built something quite similar for our birds!

Those nipple waterers are awesome!

I'd like to invite @talltuk and @theferalone to participate!

Sort:  

awesome share! it reminds me of the design i saw for a much larger one not long ago,

Wow, one thousand birds... Those are some happy hens!

I've thought about making one of these. Every time I have tried free ranging I lose chickens so it would be nice to have a moveable run for them.

It looks very simple... Good job, my friend @mountainjewel .

Yay, chicken tractor! I love these. A definite build for us in the future. Thanks for the nomination. Do I actually have to build an idea? I currently have no supplies and no idea where to scalvage any. I will have a think and see what I can come up with.

Nope it’s just imagination ;) think of an idea design using the materials @aunt-deb suggested and tag it diyragtag :)

Ok awesome. I was tired last night and didn't read the post properly 😂

Very impressive... That's a whole, self-contained system and road tested, to boot! I like, also, that's it's light enough for one person to handle moving it.

Thanks for the great contribution to the collection!

thank you! as noted, we did something similar on the homestead and it works very well!! <3

I was thinking the same thing and time got away from me and forget. I was working on the garden and small house at the same time and running to get supplies. I think they say that is too many irons in the fire. Great idea and it is really a useful run.

yeah it's super useful. we don't know anything about too many irons in the fire! lol ;) ;)

Great design idea. @aunt-deb will be happy with your work. 🐓🐓

thank you <3 :)

I showed up too late to upvote on this one but I like the lightweight design. I've thought about making something similar that is standardized to fit on top of 4x8' raised beds so the birds can clean up the beds between plantings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63117.29
ETH 2601.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76