Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue 4๐Ÿ“

in #homesteading โ€ข 7 years ago

In this weeks issue I thought it prudent to reintroduce the girls of "Fuss & Feathers" homestead, some of you may have missed that issue. Blanche,Sweetpea,The Professor, Brownie, Blue, Dot, Maryann and Shelly are all doing well.

IMG_0175.JPG

It's the hottest part of the summer here in Florida, the daily rains have let up. Chickens tend to lay less during the hottest months of the year. The hens are now about 9 months old and because they are still young they lay 20% more then they will by this time next year. The Hens egg counts will go down as they age.

IMG_1357.JPG

Nobody's acting broody! So the family has stayed together, no incidents of having to place anyone in "solitary."

There was a attempted incident involving escape just this morning, but my faithful herding dog saved the day. The Professor escaped out the egg checking hatch while I was in the coop photographing the girls. I had left the hatch up after collecting the eggs. I saw her contemplating the escape, snapped her photo thinking I'd make it out of the coop to shoo her back in, Leghorns are nervous hens. She jumped down and the chase was on...

IMG_1349.JPG

IMG_1353.JPG

IMG_1361.JPG

IMG_1362.JPG
The Professor safely herded back into the run

The girls do have free-ranging activities durning the cooler evening time when I am present to supervise. There are just too many predators for me to just leave them outside their run.

Here's a little tidbit of information if any of you raise chickens and it's hot! I add "Save A Chick" electrolytes to their water. Doing it a couple times weekly keeps them hydrated and they lay better. It looks just like Gatorade, they don't seem to mind the orange color. I also like to provide them with fruit like watermelon and berries-yes they are spoiled.

IMG_1368.JPG

The egg count this past week was better then last weeks, I have a total of 33. I made a nice Quiche.

The recipe this week is really simple "Egg Salad." I don't really like to cook big dinners in the summer months.

Ingredients
4 boiled eggs
1/4 cup of mayo
1 Tbsp diced dill pickles
pinch of dill
1 tsp. Yellow mustard
Salt to taste
Good soft bread

Chop the yolks and egg whites into small pieces.
Add the eggs to the mayo, diced pickles, dill, mustard, and salt and mix until smooth.
Make sure you have good fresh bread, add some lettuce or avocado to your bread. Makes two sandwiches, double recipe for 4

That's it for this weeks Chicken Gazette...๐Ÿ“

IMG_1041.JPG
All photographs and text is owned by @mother2chicks

Sort: ย 

Thank you for the electrolyte tip friend! I was unaware of this. I usually just add a teaspoon or two of apple cider vinegar to their water.

You're very welcome friend. I have read that Apple cinder vinegar is good for them too๐Ÿ“I am who whipped tonight.
You know I meant to tell you in your last post where you spoke about steemit being like a business that I have noticed the guys seem to do better financially. With the exception of a very few women. Not being sexist, but it seems that way to me. Some dude does a video and makes big $$$ and the bitcoin madness! Geeze! ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ“

Oh yes I can see that! Bros before H**s attitude is strong here haha

Yep, indeed!๐Ÿ™€

So glad the escapee ended up back in the safety of the run. Great helper, too. They're hard to come by!

Me too, she a nervous one. The boxer dog is a great help. I told her to get that white bird๐Ÿ˜‰Thanks aunt-deb๐Ÿ“

Wonderful post. I love your chickens. I'm hoping to do a post on our chickens too soon.

Thanks hethur240 and thanks for stopping by. Let me know when you post if I miss it and good luck. What types of chickens do you have?๐Ÿ“ They are funny little creatures!

We have 5 adult Americanas (easter eggs) hens, an adult Rhode Island Red hen (named Loudmouth), 1 Leghorn, and the others are all mutt offspring of the adults.

Sounds like a nice little flock you got going๐Ÿ“

That's cute - spoiled chicks! I love your banner too!

Thanks for having a looksie๐Ÿ“

Lol. These chicken are always Hungary. Very nice post Upvoted, detail oriented and well elaborated. Keep it up. Thank you

Thank you๐Ÿ“

I would spoil my babies too! How long do chickens live for? Isn't it hard getting so attached if they don't live very long, sorry if this is sensative subject?

The average for backyard chickens is supposed to be 5 to 7 years. No you are fine, it's just the way it is. That's so much for stopping by.๐Ÿ“

thank for sharing !!!

Thank you for stopping by๐Ÿ“

so many nice chicken on your post!! I have to say the the boxer dog seems to be a great little helper ^_

She's a great dog and thank you for coming by๐Ÿ“

Heyy really nice post:) It was verry useful.Please check my little journey that I made soon. I hope you enjoy my photos. @nakedchef89

https://steemit.com/travel/@nakedchef89/travel-challenge-26-metewra-meteora-in-greece-2017813t203920567z

Thanks๐Ÿ˜‰

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks so much!๐Ÿ“

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74