Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue #32 ~ New Baby Chicks for Spring

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to this weeks Gazette here at the “Fuss & Feathers” homestead!

We’ve added 4 baby chicks to the flock bringing the total to 13 !

The chicks are 7 weeks old, fully feathered and very cute. Two Buff Orphingtons, a Rhode Island Red and a silver laced Wyandotte. I named the Wyandotte “Gracie”, the other 3 are yet to be named.

Scroll down to read more about “Gracie.”


597ED766-569A-41EE-A942-A988754E9FD9.jpeg

They are an active bunch, difficult to get them to stay still for photos.


0E5C5C91-BF2E-4C1A-9F7A-AFA025BE8963.jpeg

Messy, but cute little critters.


1374BC96-F865-4637-B2AB-9A0C1F4EC62B.jpeg

Look at me!


Why did only one get named? She is small and not feeling well, she’s been separated and is in the house with me. She’s lethargic, not eating or drinking, so I am hand feeding her giving her electrolyte water from a syringe every hour. She likes plain yogurt too. Keeping her warm and quiet, hoping she survives. “Gracie” is her name, because I can tell she needs help from above if she’s going to make it.


92DFC247-729E-4A5F-B4EA-279D1DCF8CEF.jpeg


A5F38FCE-79D6-42A2-B8FE-3508336D206C.jpeg


The other girls are doing great, they are accepting Henny Penny more each week. I had to remove Dot for an overnighter in a separate cage to stop the pecking attacks she’d instigate.


4E902E37-D6CF-4B36-B266-C6CA9D4FEC24.jpeg

But I’m beautiful...


Broody Brownie has been given a golf ball to try to hatch in a separate nesting box, she seems content to sit on it until some one else lays. Naughty little bird sits on those until I collect them, then the golf ball gets appealing once again.


B65B8117-CCBF-447C-AD4D-314CEB162B46.jpeg

Hey, that’s mine (I pulled it out from under her)


B1A90060-7B7E-4ED2-BBEB-249639ADC2DB.jpeg

Enjoying a dust bath


I am buying feed more often these days, picked up a bag 50 lb bag the other day.

Egg production is up and my customers are wanting them more often.


A47BD895-B6E0-43AB-88B4-838597AB8158.jpeg
EC368774-AEA1-4A19-8459-FB3EBAF457DE.png

Stay tuned @mother2chicks for next weeks Chicken Gazette Issue #33


F0270194-ED5A-473A-AE3B-336E5E9905E8.jpeg

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Thanks for your continued support, it’s appreciated. Also for adding “service women” to the humvee...😉🐓

I like this chicks..there are beautiful and cute..☺

Thank you for stopping by🐓

So cute ... I love chickens too.
I hope the little sick one makes it.

great photos and report :)

Awww how cute! Gotta love those baby chickies! ♥

Congratulations on your new babies! Awww I am thinking of getting two more in the late summer💜

Thank-you Friend. It’s always nice to have new babies around. Googley 👀 is MIA of late, maybe she’s on a road trip to your place😉❤️

I hope little Gracie makes it. We just lost our Lone Ranger on Tuesday. It was really upsetting. I'm glad the rest of your birds are doing well and that HP is settling in well. Dot is just kind of a naughty bird!

Well @hethur240 you use nicer words to describe her than I do. She has really been a bossy bitch! She has gotten to be quite large and it’s probably part of her intimidation factor. Sorry you lost the Lone Ranger I hope there was no suffering involved. It hurts so much when they each have their own personalities. 🐓🐓

Lovely animals! Chickens are so pretty and interesting. (On a sad not my Honey died.) She was the sweetest chicken I had. Now I only have two. Two is not a good number. I hope Gracie makes it!

Glad to here that the flock is growing. Gracie has a great chance due to your TLC. Best wishes.

Love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42