Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue #30

Welcome to the Gazette! I know many of you have been anticipating this weeks update on the hens at “Fuss and Feathers.”


D45E2CB1-C2EE-42E8-A9DA-11BCFCB546EA.jpeg


I’ve decide for this weeks issue of the Gazette to talk about what I call “Chicken Culture.” Yes, I probably do need more to do!

First, lets define culture in simplistic terms.

Culture is defined as "all group-typical behavior patterns, shared by members of communities, that are to some degree reliant on socially learned and transmitted information.” Additionally, culture is not passed on genetically from parents to offspring, but rather learned through experience and participation.~from Wikipedia

People have socially transmitted behaviors, but do chickens?

Do chickens have an organized culture?

Do they learn by observing their peers?

Do they have language skills?

Can they learn?

When I started closely observing my chickens I began to notice they do seem to operate in their own micro-culture. The evening roosting time provided me with ample evidence for my theory.

Mornings are not a prime time due to their exuberance regarding being fed and let out of the coop! That’s mayhem time.


CF5DAF39-0E1B-4E1C-9E26-189CE2E969EF.jpeg


Yes, there is a pecking order. It’s not as simple as one chicken being an alpha. If there were a rooster in the mix he would be dominate. At different times being alpha appears to rotate amongst the flock. One day it is Dot, the next it’s SweetPea and then Brownie. Dots just a bully to Henny, but she’s not being alpha. Blue, Shelly, Professor, MaryAnne all take their turns.


37A32C2B-BB56-4D2D-8C59-985B76DA4D4F.jpeg


The two who seem consistently passive are Blanche and Henny Penny. There are oblivious anomalies with both hens, Blanche has a crocked tail and Henny still has pecking wounds with missing feathers on her neck. It’s like being ostracized from society for being different looking.


E55D2B4E-221B-4594-B5C9-9343CA7093EE.jpeg


BC80B35E-A855-4ED4-9749-72FAEC31DF87.jpeg


I’ve watched countless times the smaller Easter Eggers knock Dot and Blue right off the roost bar by just applying brute force. Placing their head and upper body under her breast and pushing up hard with all their might. When I first saw this my first thought was-aww she wants to be comforted, Not!


6887A931-0685-4381-B4EB-8646AC29AE13.jpeg


Every hen also has a different distinct call and what I call mutter. The muttering sounds like self talk or bitching. They do it with each other and alone.


D7E02161-969F-44DA-A202-CAEB0F8F8C0D.jpeg
Brownie bitchin at me.


They display pack behavior when hunting for food during their free ranging time and fight for the prize whether it’s a lizard, bug, grub, baby snake or even a toad. Songbirds don’t operate in a pack (migration and flock behavior don’t count), nor do predatory birds. Vultures are the exception, but it’s a different hunt, they’re scavengers.

Chickens can learn from other species, like humans. They recognize individuals and know intent and they also can be taught. They take clues from their environment and seem to reason. They are not afraid of the dog or the cat. If I do A then B is going to happen. I have taught some of them tricks with and without good.

My summation is that Chickens are at least as intelligent as a toddler or the family dog and my research verifies they function within a culture of their own.


038703FD-DD9D-4AA4-ADCC-F6D44269CF21.jpeg


Moving on...

I have lots of eggs to distribute to my customers and friends. I ran out of cartons and need to raid the towns recycle bins, egg cartons are abundant on certain days. The hens are laying really well.


1A8B64DD-61FD-4891-9C5D-31999DE7251D.jpeg


Purchases this past week were calcium, grit, and more feed. Having one additional hen (HP) and all of them being adults seems to make a difference in their feed consumption.

Stay tuned @mother2chicks for next weeks Chicken Gazette Issue #31

92862543-8D68-4BC0-A5A7-DB2E54FEA534.png


11CF0BA2-0BA7-4BDE-9492-BC83CEC0FD23.jpeg

Sort:  

Chickens are waaaay smarter than many give them credit for💜

Indeed they are friend, how are your hens?🐓

Chickens are like all animals. They each have their own personality and mannerisms. Poor Henny Penny. She is still not quite a member of the folk. Perhaps when she gets all her feathers back...

I hope I can get a variance to have some chickens myself. But I am a year from being ready to go after that variance. Oh and btw stop by my page. You were mentioned in my last post.

The next time I'm looking for a chicken whisperer I'm coming to you! You are an​ expert poultrywoman, I must say!
I enjoy these Gazette pieces! Thanks.

Humm! Kind of like that , sound like a book or movie I have seen before. Lol. 🐓🐓

@mother2chicks You are the mother of a bunch of chickens and mother of 2 chicks. 🐓 🐔

Lol, this is adorable, I do like chickens and as far as pecking order our world is built on it. 🌍

At least a chicken know where they stand to use the dirt.

Great job on the Gazette ❤️

Wow, Ellie Mae, I learned a lot from your observations of the Girls! We humans are arrogant if we think that we are the only beings on this planet with something resembling culture. To reduce animal behaviour to "pack behaviour" as we have a tendency to do, while referring to our "pack behaviour" as "culture" reinforces how we have separated ourselves from our fellow residents of this small blue dot. That the other girls are nasty to Blanche and HP probably just because they're different tells me that like us, chickens can be Mean Girls too. I was flabbergasted that some of the girls actually push others off their perches. Good thing they have you and your kindness and caring as an influence! And so happy the girls are laying well
😘😘

Hi Kiligirl, yes the girls are fascinating to watch. They do many things that we never expected them to do. Having only a handful makes them easier to study. They are very bright, and when in the coop it’s like watching the Kardashian’s as they perform their daily rituals. Hope you are doing well with your challenges, financially and physically. You must be exhausted from the past six months.
Much Love to you my friend. Ellie Mae🐓🐓❤️

Hey there, Ellie Mae, I burst out laughing when you compared the Kardashians to chickens - oh, I mean when you compared the chickens to Kardashians!

Not exhausted yet, but I did really enjoy the sleep-ins that this long weekend gave us. April is a month of many short weeks - last week we had the public holiday of Good Friday (I flew back from Lusaka on Friday afternoon, though) and today was "Family Day", another public holiday. Took the opportunity to reconnect with one of my girlfriends who I haven't seen for months. Wonderful catching up. So...a bit more sleep than usual, time with a good friend and a lovely walk around our neighbourhood (bunnies were involved) - I think I've recharged nicely!

Wishing you the same. I'll bet studying the girls can be nearly hypnotic and deeply involving once you start to know their personalities and the way they typically interact with each other. A nifty way to relax?

Much love back to you, my friend. Happy Kardashian watching. 😜😊

It was a weekend of paradise here. Woke up long enough to take care of the creatures, have a cup of coffee, steem for an hour, then It was lights out for me. Guess I needed the rest myself. Feels like we have been blowing and going for a while now. Need to keep a diary so there is some record of my activity. Love Ellie Mae.🐓🐓

Wonderful! Love yourself, my friend 💓💓.

i resteemed it to my 30,500+ followers @a-0-0

i resteemed it to my 30,500+ followers @a-0-0


Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post. No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service. we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : https://t.co/x00cCqsVa1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57