Weekly Chicken Gazette Issue #21🐓

Welcome to this weeks issue of the Gazette. It's been an interesting week here at the “Fuss & Feathers" homestead.

The girls, Blanche,Sweetpea,The Professor, Brownie, Dot, Maryann, Shelly and Blue have been busy this week helping me around the homestead.

B9EE8F16-DB59-45FE-A4ED-DA0DE9D9F5AB.jpeg

My neighbor friend David and I decided to go to a local horse farm and get a load of perfectly aged horse manure for the yard and the upcoming spring garden. We are planning a total redo the garden situation this coming Spring.

5FAC3A4E-4446-47ED-9153-7E5F06B152C2.jpeg

B76C7E82-EA7C-4605-9467-D8EDEDFD2574.jpeg

The girls helping me spread the horse manure and the compost pile from last year

D0F84B36-55B1-4927-B0D8-F82FAFB3C6F6.jpeg

They also assisted me with tilling the dirt where the old container garden existed

F09A2F46-088F-471F-8517-729C98A632E3.jpeg

EA54CADA-FDE3-400C-B707-47F55B99EEBD.jpeg

Just a little too much help. Naughty birds!!!

42BD15F6-4157-41AA-AEAC-D395C3A58CA0.jpeg

2C97E43A-9D61-4D04-8EAF-AD369706817D.jpeg

We decided to move the very large chain link dog cage (future exciting plans for that) maybe some new critter friends for the homestead?

4A223030-8035-4235-B30F-C059BDBEE167.jpeg

Blue officially laid her first egg since molting began in October. A beautiful green egg in a sea of white. Reminding me of the Dr. Suess book “Green Eggs and Ham.”

7CE23055-0795-4B0E-8C64-39ECFFB7FF8D.jpeg

Hopefully Dot will be the next post molting hen to lay a beautiful brown egg and Brownie had better get busy too

6D47F5DD-9807-4F9F-A63C-6F75E93A6256.jpeg

They are free ranging much more these days and seem happy with the change. I’ve watched them when hearing the cry of a Red-shouldered hawk, they raise their heads listening and run under the shed or the car. They seem to be wise and know the dangers.

Enjoying taking dust baths

0218C970-B1D3-4FB3-A2BC-A3238B193E02.jpeg

All in all it’s been a good week with moments of amusement. I made another batch of “Kombucho” and one of my SCOBYs needed to go. Walking towards the coop I noticed the hens scratching around. Tossing the SCOBY into the middle of their run they all ran towards it took a sniff and ran from it! Guess they didn’t like the vinegar smell! I laughed at their disgust.

No new purchases this week and the egg production is slowing going back up. My customers are happy, leaving sweet notes in their mailboxes about how tasty the eggs are and wanting more next week.

Repost of my Quiche recipe
Ingredients
1 frozen or home made pie crust
7-8 Large eggs
1 cup cheese grated (cheddar cheese, swiss cheese or mozzarella)
Some people add a tablespoon of baking powder, I do not.

I like to add 1 of 3 additional ingredients. (1/3 cup of each)
Kale sautéed in olive oil and garlic
Cherry tomatoes cut in half
Cubed potatoes and bacon
A little dab of goat cheese

Instructions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
Whisk the eggs
Pour the egg mixture into the pie crust
Add cheeses and optional ingredients
Bake uncovered for about 35 to 40 minutes

Beautiful Florida sky with Sandhill Cranes flying high

B29272B5-9F08-4799-AFCF-664592AE314A.jpeg

Stay tuned here @mother2chicks for next weeks Chicken Gazette🐓

Sort:  

Oh I wants some Chicks...lol One day, Maybe 2018 :)

I hope you can get a few chicks, they really do provide lots of entertainment and of course fresh eggs.
It’s been my first year having hens and so glad I made the decision to be a Chicken Khalessi. Thanks for coming by🐓

Great post @mother2chicks! Your photos prove that not much will deter a chicken when they want to forage. They just jumped right up into your planter as if they owned the place. LOL!

Thank-you so much, glad you enjoyed reading the Gazette. So true, they see something they want and they are go after it. I was pretty surprised as I looked out the window and there were actually 3 up there, one of my Leghorns was right in the middle of the kale! She saw me coming and jumped out, the 2 Easter eggers are not as nervous.🐓

Looks like the girls thought you brought them a box lunch... Lol! Too funny about the SCOBY, too.

Love the green egg! Haven't seen 'em that dark before. Neat!

Oh @aunt-deb you’re funny, “box lunch”, they did act somewhat entitled.LOL
That is the darkest green egg she’s ever laid, makes me wonder when Dot finally begins laying again, if it will a darker brown egg. Thank you for making me laugh😉🐓

😜

Oooh, it'll be interesting to see if Dot's are different, too, going forward. Interesting change, if so.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Thank you guys🍺

Put those lil ladies to work! Mine always love the kombucha scobies! As do my dogs lol I hope you get mini goats, I sure miss having those! Lovely Sunday to you friend 💜

Maybe I should have cut it up into smaller portions.LOL
Hope you had a great Sunday as well good friend❣️🐓

Haha I know what you mean when the chickens help too much! My chickens are constantly getting into things they shouldnt...
Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing!!

They did it again today, looked out and 3 Leghorns were in the Kale. You’re right they are noses critters.
Thank you for reading and your kind comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51