Spring Signals New Beginnings

This past month has been a difficult one here a Fuss & Feathers. Surely we are not alone with our setbacks. Ever since I decided to give myself permission to retire from my job of eleven years, we have been hammered with extra expenses.


2A282B66-F54B-4413-B2FA-63A37F9B3ED8.jpeg

New Beginnings...a metamorphosis of sorts

Source


Generally it’s best to recognize these roadblocks as gifts, grateful for them happening now rather than later. So with that I can tell you it all started when Henny Penny came along joining our existing flock of eight hens.


451A6B46-3BDE-44B9-8C1B-EB9F00EE9931.jpeg

HP


Seems like that was the day of the freaky wheel falling off from the lawnmower and injuring my back.


1853C58B-E621-4991-8D91-D5A6970B9107.jpeg


Snowballing into a problem with the well, where we learned our water had a lot of mineral deposits in it and consequently having to replace the hot water heater plus adding a water softener onto the system. Needless to say lining up contractors to fix these problems, setting appointments and making sure the job is properly completed is tough for a working person.

Spring being upon us, wanting to work outside and get projects done before it gets too hot. My Sister has been working on clearing the view of the pond while my friend David has been taking down some of our smaller trees for harvesting mushrooms. It feels as though we are truly making progress with our woods walking path. I can’t wait to let a little sun through the canopy and plan a fun place to put unusual plants in clumps.


59A5E1DD-041A-479D-9242-BC465018C24B.jpeg


When I worked in horticulture there were many well known landscape architects that picked a park and made it their life’s mission to create a beautiful space that would always be appreciated and well maintained. I have no such grande ideas, only the desire to be able bodied to garden until done.


6CF8A19C-E892-40A9-AFAE-75AE2420BDE4.jpeg


We have a lot to work left to do on our property. Most of it cosmetic. Better planting’s of trees and greenery. Proper fencing with a nice gate. It will all come in time we know. Sometimes it is difficult to be patient. The girls are a big help as they comb the areas we have cleaned making sure to grab any grubs ticks or spiders that we can’t see. They rock and roll as they scratch the earth, which stirs up the soil by pulling back the old debris.


C85D252D-664F-4047-A5FF-69C5D02896C6.jpeg


So no we honestly haven’t been avoiding writing, we’ve been very busy preparing for a new way of life. This is just the beginning!🐓🐓

0BC41438-E269-4CF8-8253-9CD1B76085D6.png


6BC3E772-DCBA-4B89-BFCE-41355752FFB1.jpeg

Sort:  

Love the path, lookin good. Sorry to hear you hurt your back again, stay away from freaky lawnmowers. BTW, I need another dozen of your eggs when you have time. They are the best I have ever tasted, bet you hear that a lot...

Thank you for the compliment. Got plenty of eggs these days. No problem. 🐓🐓

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

I feel your pain! just after I bought my house, the one place I was working at, that provided most of my income, closed down. So I have just learned to take it one day at a time. Fortunately our exchange rate is so bad, Steemit money is actually worth something, so I just get on and post every day because last year was grim

It all comes in good time. My homestead is a work in progress. I am not worried. It will get done when it gets done. It is a lifestyle change and takes time to adjust. Eventually, it will all come together and then I will be bored because it is complete. LOL

Ours too Ceci, it’s a slow operation and just keeping it maintained is our highest commitment , sometimes it means I have to find few able bodied people to help out. My physical strength is somewhat diminished.. . It will take form at some point. 🐓🐓

That path through the woods looks very inviting!

I laughed at myself after looking at the picture , cause at first I didn’t even recognize it. Haha! Thank you for saying that. 🐓🐓

Yea, good luck with all of that and I hope nothing else breaks down! Also I'm so sorry your hurt your back; I hope it is feeling much better!

Thanks for your comment @violetmed. All things gradually falling into line. My back is a slow heal, but it too is coming along. Probably some fear thrown in the heap too. Hope you are well.🐓🐓

I am well, thank you! I'll throw in some motherly advice(I told my daughter this recently) - try Aleve if you haven't. I had pulled some muscles in my neck and back a few weeks ago and after only 1 day of Aleve I was feeling much better! Advil was not doing the trick! Believe me I only take meds when I have a pain like that that won't go away! :)

Thank you for your wise words. I am indeed taking the aleve. It does help.🐓🐓

You've retired!? That's wonderful!
I am sure the critters are so glad to have you home with them all day and vice versa :-)
Take it easy 😘🐾🌺

Not retired quite yet. Soon, as the physical aspects are getting to be too difficult for this old gal. Trying to knock out some major projects before it happens. We spent the day watching critters at the Chi Institute. Lots of dogs and horses and a montage of Chinese food to eat while they all received their acupuncture.
It was a gorgeous day and we sat outside enjoying the day. Playing hookie!
How is the hydro- therapy coming along? Who takes care of the boys when you go out of town? It makes it hard unless you have someone you can really trust.
Much love my friend!❤️🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12