We Just Ordered Our First Composting Toilet!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

That's right! You didn't misread the title! Our first composting toilet is on the way!


 

Kind of ugly, yeah, I know... But besides the overall appearance, this thing looks to be amazing!

What is a composting toilet? :D Rather than re-elaborate, here's a quick Youtube FAQ:

Stay tuned for updates on how this toilet ends up working for our family in a standard household setup, rather than the tiny house/RV setup that many purchase this toilet for.

-Jeremy

Blog: http://mnhomesteader.com/blog/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mnhomesteader

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Interesting. You have normal toilets with septic, but you're adding a composting toilet? What was your reasons for doing so?

We have a regular toilet in our main bathroom on our private septic. With four growing kids, we are in the process of adding a second "half bath" with a sink and toilet. This toilet will go in that bathroom (I haven't convinced my wife to change that one the main one yet, but maybe we will if this one is well received). It will make plumbing much easier and it allows us to try the composting toilet out. Win-win. I also conveniently have 12VDC solar generated power available in that bathroom, so I can run the fan on the toilet from that.

That's a very neat money saving idea for expanding families.

It was a little spendy up front, but it should save us some money in the long run in electric (well pump and septic sump pump) and septic pumping. I will now not need to run a 4" sewer line to the second floor for a toilet, which is a relief! We also get the bonus of compost!

Ooooo this is something my husband and I have considered doing!
Very interested to follow along and see how that goes for you!

My wife gave me the go ahead to order, so I eagerly went with it! I am actually looking forward to maintaining a toilet for a change! :)

I need to this too. We have a bio-filter septic system now but in future I would like to change over. Kudos for doing this now.

We just put in a new $8000USD septic this summer. I wish I would have known about these then and I could have saved myself a lot!

That's an ouch!

For sure, and that was the cheapest quote we received, by $4000. My wife got on board with this toilet, so am excited and hoping it goes well!

I a looking forward to hear how it works out for you.

Congratulations @mnhomesteader! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86