Re-Using Old Feed Bags

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

We are still on the hunt for an affordable gravity box (wagon) to allow us to purchase our feed in bulk and save lots of $$$ (so if you know of anyone willing to part with their un-used gravity box in central Minnesota for cheap, let us know!!). But, for the interim, we purchase 50LB bags of feed from our local mill.

Between our chickens, ducks, yak, cow, goats, and rabbits, the feed bags pile up fairly quickly if left in the barn. Now, just ask my wife, I HATE a messy barn. Okay, HATE may be strong, but you get the point.

Also, as a homesteader, just throwing these bags out is also not an option. We homesteaders are a thrifty practical bunch. We function stack whenever possible (more on that in an upcoming post). So, here are a few ways we put those feed bags to use:

#1: Christmas Present Wrapping Paper

Yes, we are frugal when it comes to wrapping presents! Why spend lots of unneeded money on wrapping paper and gift bags when you have these feed bags laying around. The wrapping just gets thrown out and tossed aside anyways. Besides, we live on a farm, so presents wrapped in feed bags are sort of fitting.

#2: Sheet Mulching

I like to use our paper feed bags (and cardboard boxes) for sheet mulching in my attempt to keep the weeds at bay, the soil damp, and soil biology active.

#3: Re-usable grocery bags

I stole this idea from my brother and sis-in-law: turn those old feed bags into re-usable grocery bags. Need instructions, here ya go: http://www.instructables.com/id/Feed-Bag-Tote-Bag/

#4: Starting the Wood Stove

Our house's primary heat source is wood. Besides the free Saturday ads/paper, the feed bags are a perfect source of kindling to get that fire going.

What do you do with your old feed bags? What awesome ideas have I been missing out on!?

-Jeremy

Blog: http://mnhomesteader.com/blog/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mnhomesteader

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

Why haven't I thought of sheet mulching?! I've used ordinary cardboard before but it's never crossed my mind to use feed bags. Ugg. That's it - I'm saving them all up now so when I go up to my farm land I can lay them out and help suppress some of the weeds.

Great post!

Thank you! I almost like the feed bags better than cardboard for sheet mulching as they are easier to position in place and fold to size.

When we used to have chickens, the feed came in these wiry plastic-like bags and I used them all the time in the garden around the plants to keep weeds away.

I also used them to store things like rock salt (cause the plastic bags the salt came in always ripped) and the feed bags are SO HARD to rip.

But mainly we used them when we would rake up the chicken poop. Made it easier to haul out back to the garden area. I never used the wheel barrel for this chore for some reason- yeah, silly me!

Good idea on the salt storage. They would be great for that!

As much as I want to comment on the bags and chicken poop removal, I'm going to refrain :D

@mnhomesteader Awesome re purpose :D Best wishes, - @splendorhub

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66