You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading Goals 2018

I never really thought of rabbits as meat for the carnivores on the homestead. I'm not really sold on the meat myself, so we decided against breeding them for that purpose. We just breed mini lops for pets. If we ever end up on acreage with a dog I might reconsider it now.

Sort:  

I should mention you can only feed about 30% rabbit because it's so lean. We will supplement that with duck, chicken and quail!

It seems like the most economical because they breed pretty much all the time. If I wanted to do the same thing with poultry I would either have to store large amounts or get an incubator and brood the chicks myself which I'm not willing to do. That's too much unnecessary work in my opinion. I'm hoping we will like it but if not we have plenty of animal to feed haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52