You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 19 Ways to Make Your Homestead Resilient to Drought

Our droughts have been getting longer over the last couple of years. My methods are similar to yours and the soil has gradually been improving, but when we get three months with no rain and temperatures over 110°F for days on end, I can't not water. Deep soaking is the only thing that keeps them alive on extreme days. Adelaide's pretty windy too. I think I'll look into wind breaks a bit more.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yeah, with that heat I can see why you would need to water. The 90s are generally the hottest it gets here and 80s are normal for summer.

Wind breaks are a great option. You might also want to see about growing vegetables in semi-shade. There are a number that don't mind it. I have a kale growing under a cherry tree on the north side of a hugelkultur bed. It gets very little sun but is growing happily in its second year.

Back when I was renting I grew a lot of greens in semi-shade on a small patio. They grew slower but lasted a lot longer than the ones in full sun and still provided a great harvest.

Good luck with the heat and thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43