Sort:  

It's a sort of timber-frame, half-buried hybrid thing, hahah! That style would use the resources we have on our land the best, we think. Of course, once we finally get to the building stage, maybe further refinements will be in order! I'm looking forward to comparing notes once we both get to the house portion of our homesteads. Also! So good to know on the duck poop! They certainly make enough of it.

Well color me curious! I definitely want to have a root cellar when we build a house and I wouldn't be against building it into the earth if the property is right for it. Timber framing is really beautiful but I love cob! I am considering a timber frame with strawbale exterior walls (north idaho needs the insulation) and cob interior. It's definitely going to be different

Whew, you're brave to beheaded to North Idaho! There seems to be a lot of homesteaders there, though. We moved from Northeastern Ohio to get to our homestead (we were near the Cleveland area), and one thing we're so looking forward to is a milder winter. We are total cold wimps, and have had our fill the 100+ days of snow on the ground, haha!

Can't wait to see all these house plans come to fruition someday.

We miss the winter sooooo much. We moved from northern japan and our area received over 100 inches of snow each winter. Here there are no seasons, it's too hot and the bugs are insane!

I can't wait either (though I'll have to). Good thing I'll be able to watch you guys :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53