You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Alternative, Non-Plastic Gardening Containers

I'm not sure I'm understanding how cob planters will hold up. Cob isn't designed to handle water. The only reason why it works as a building material is if it has good boots and a good hat. So the roof needs to extend far from the house and the base of the walls is usually about a foot high made with stone. I would look into treating it with linseed oil or tadelakt

Sort:  

I'm going to allow drainage of excess water through the bottom and I'm also looking at reinforcing the sides with reeds or something as they become available. I'm still in the planning stages right now. I might treat it with something but if I do it will be some other kind of natural paste or something that I can make that will not leech gross stuff into the soil. It's a good point, though, and I'll be keeping a lookout for solutions. Thanks! :)

Even then I'm pretty sure it will erode over time. Linseed oil is natural though so that might be a good option!

I'll be checking it out! Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59