Our Christmas: Useful is ALWAYS appreciated!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

(Blue Agnes Beans from Baker Creek. Aren't they pretty?!)

I LOVE useful gifts. Expensive, cheap doesn’t matter. If it makes my life easier or creates a healthier environment for my husband and I, I’m all for it. I love fun things as much as the next person but when things are tight financially it’s nice to get something you would have had to buy for yourself anyway that makes your life just a little bit easier. Maybe I’m weird or really old for my age who knows! What I do know is that Christmas surprised me this year. The last few years it has been hard to get into the Christmas spirit. We have struggled ever since we moved here. We are used to living in an area that gets cold. Here it is frequently 60 degrees in December and we’re wearing short sleeves the day before Christmas. (It actually got a little cold on Christmas Day imagine that!) Anyway, we always come around Christmas morning and everything turns out better than expected. This year was no exception. Chris got me one of the best gifts ever! This requires a little bit of explaining so bear with me.

)

The way our house is set up we needed 2 hoses to reach last year’s garden. We only had 2 hoses so I would unscrew the one attached to the well house from the second one, then walk it to the duck coop to fill their kiddie pool. This eventually became a huge pain in the butt. I had a hard time getting the threads to line up properly and there was probably some dirt in there which didn’t help. It was one of those things that got extremely frustrating having to do it every other day or so.

)

So far I am loving the spigot adaptor. In addition to this adaptor he got me a shut off valve for the end of the hose plus a 3rd hose! Now I can keep a hose in the duck coop that is always on. All I have to do to turn the valve at the end and fill the pool while I feed everyone.

)

(my new hose set up in the coop)

My in-laws were also on their game this year. They sent a leather cast iron handle cover and seeds from Baker Creek!! All of these will be planted in next year’s garden. I’m VERY excited about it!

All in all it was a great Christmas! What useful gifts did you get this year?

Sort:  

I got this! two actually. It's great local hand-made stuff. I'm going to try to get these guys to join steemit. I got snacks too, because people know I love snacking...but that's allll gone :D
20171228_112425.jpg
20171228_112438.jpg
20171228_113620.jpg

I too prefer gifts like this!

I am a simple person and LOVE homemade gifts- more thought put into them.

Helping to Welcome In 2018- Here's Your CLUCKY New Year Surprise. Please check your wallet for a LITTLE Holiday Cock-A-Doodle-Doo!

2018.jpg

Image Source

From @goldendawne, The Stewards Of Gondor & @fulltimegeek

Keep up the good work 👍

I actually came up with a few great ideas for homemade gifts for next year! It's going to be awesome!!

Oh please do make some posts! I love seeing how creative people get. Plus it gives me some ideas of my own!

I definitely will! Part of the plan is to grow our own loofas

Cool!!
Gotta love useful gifts!
Those leather cast iron handle covers sound great, I need to get some of those!
Merry belated Christmas!
I got myself a percolator, which is something Ive been wanting, and the coffee is better this way!

We don't drink coffee here at Mini Georgian Homestead so I have no idea how nice that must be but yay!!! Merry Christmas to you too!

Haha I love my coffee! My husband drinks it once in a while, but never really liked it until I tried the percolator, then he started drinking it for real cause he liked how it tasted. He kept asking me if I bought a different brand or something. Nope, same ol' coffee.
By the way, we are in Georgia too! :D

Oh cool where at?! We're in the south west. I have yet to find any local homesteading friends 😢

South east, haha.
We are tired of the whole Georgia climate though, and are hoping for a move up north in the future... This sand and heat... I cant deal with it! LOL

We don't like it either but we aren't from the south. We eventually want to settle in northern idaho

Sounds good! Im from Ohio so I have missed the northern climate very much. My husband is from Florida, so I hope he doesnt freeze, but he says he is ready for a change. We arent sure yet where exactly, but are thinking somewhere in the area of TN, KY, maybe MO. We have family up there, and would like to be near enough to visit, but, you know, not too near... (Drama and such...)

ahaha yes. Laws and weather were our main considerations for idaho

I got seeds for Christmas this year too. Best gifts ever.

I was so excited! I've never grown beans, corn, broccoli or lettuce so this will be interesting

That is wonderful. I too have always been someone who prefers useful gifts instead of anything fancy or pretty. But I have a small family. It is mainly my dad who is the gift giver and he always gives cash.

Cash is always useful!!

That is an awesome gift!

It has been really nice so far but the true usefullness will come out once we plant haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68227.33
ETH 2646.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70