Our 1st Egg!!

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

This is it the moment we've been waiting 3 years for! Our first egg 😊 There is nothing more satisfying than producing your own food. Sure we've been able to produce a few dozen cucumbers this year but eggs are a whole other ball game!

cropped duck egg.png

I mentioned in another post that getting your first animals makes it feel like a proper homestead. Nothing embodies this idea more than your first egg. If getting your first animals is milestone 1, your first egg is milestone 2. So far I have not experienced anything more quintessential to homesteading than going out to feed the ducks and coming back with an egg. I actually messed up and though our hen was younger than she is so I was very surprised to come out to an egg on Sunday. Pretty much the best surprise EVER!

IMG_5471.JPG

So what's next? We will be taking a class at the end of October that will allow us to sell eggs directly to consumers. This is legally required in the state of Georgia. Right now we only have one hen producing, our other 6 are 2 months younger so we will have our certification just in time if we decide to sell our excess eggs. This probably won't happen until we have more ducks since at most we will get 7 eggs a day and we will be using them to feed our pets as well as ourselves.

I also need to get myself a cute little collection basket and place to store them on the counter 😉

Follow Us:

Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

Recent Articles

Update on Irma

Other Posts About the Ducks

The Aviary
Why Ducks?

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I picture angelic choir music to go with that pic of him holding the egg, an "ahhhhhhh" whilst rays of light eminate from it ...behold! The first egg!

Congratulations on your first egg!

LOL. I've never seen a person happier holding an egg :D
But since it means something to you, it's worth it.

Continue your love to ducks <3

my husband is quite the goofball 😆

Yippee!
Happy Duck!
Melisssa

Congrats! The excitement of the first egg.

It's a joy like none other! And she started consistently laying right away so we have a grand total of 3 eggs!!

Congratulations. That must be so cool.

YAAAAAAAY. I am so, so happy for you! That is months and years of planning, building, and waiting!!!

We bought our hens a few months old when we first moved here, so one has been laying ...and I have to tell you, that first egg moment was like finding pure gold. But better than gold, because we got to eat it. There may have been a brief dance around the coop, but there's no video evidence to verify it, so...

haha I would keep it that way! No way is the internet going to see me dancing around my duck coop haha. I was so excited, even more so because it was unexpected. Apparently I can't math

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52