My Garden

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

All who have followed my blog know I have many banana trees, mangos, limes, and many other exotic fruits growing on our homestead. But I started a new garden spot

I have not seen strawberries even in the market so I am trying to grow some. I had to put a fence around the garden to keep our many goats out. The fence gives my climbing peas something to climb. I have not found anything like a motorized tiller, so all of the digging is with a shovel.

It rains so very hard here in the Philippines, I was concerned that the rain would drive the young plants into the ground so I put a screen over part of the garden to add a misting effect when the rain hits it. Seems to work! I also shaded one side of the garden to keep the sun from drying out my young plants. Perhaps I will remove this later. Also the garden is on a slope so I put a dirt barrier on the uphill side to prevent erosion during the driving rains.

Corn
9BB1AD08-3FB7-41D3-BC4B-BBCF09F3B57C.jpeg

Strawberries
256F37B8-AA0F-41D3-9E44-2193B24EC8E4.jpeg

Cucumbers

9950D13A-C71F-43DC-AC72-58350A52AAD2.jpeg

Peas climbing the fence
B0B7F05C-55F5-44AA-8CAA-C4D74B8DFDC1.jpeg

Not showing yet, I planted bunching onions, watermelon, and a potato like plant that is supposed to grow a white potato the size of a football. A Pastor friend in the mountains gave me two to plant. (To be seen stand by)

Thanks for stopping in. I am starting small, but I am sure my garden spot will expand. In other areas I am growing ochre, peppers, tomatoes and eggplant. Also peanuts and coffee.

God bless!
Daddy William
C31AC3A3-16CA-43CB-A415-D7884AD16398.jpeg

Sort:  

That big "potato" sounds interesting. Keep us posted. I will be planting rutabagas for a fall garden. They can get pretty big, too...

I really don’t know what to expect. Something strange and the language barrier of the gifter. We will see!

Looks great! I love being in the garden. You may enjoy Curtis Stone's Urban farmer youtube channel, he has some good content on starting out with cultivation, may be some helpful tips here or there. God bless!

Will have to check him out! There is something satisfying about gardening. And something unique when everything on your plate came from your own place.
God bless brother! Thanks for dropping in!

I wish I can grow plants too :( I have a red thumb instead of green thumb they say
For now, I'll follow you to see your garden blooming and your Christian life be blessed even more :)

I am happy you have joined. It will be great to begin to get to know you!
God bless!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55