The Homestead Crop That Will NEVER FAIL YOU - AND IT WILL FEED YOUR FAMILY!

neverfails.jpg

It's time to harvest the sunchokes! Winter will be coming to a close in a couple months and it's time to harvest the sunchokes and replant them in the field we will use for cultivation. This has been a multi-year process with enlarging our growing area each year in order to finally have enough to plant an area that is about a fifth of a acre.

Sunchokes are sometimes called Jerusalem Artichokes although they really have nothing to do with Jerusalem the city. They are very prolific plant that grow and expand on their own. You could nuke these plants from orbit and you still would not wipe them out. If just one bit of root remains in the soil, it will grow into a new plant the next year and produce an amazing amount of tubers.

So, when I advise homesteaders or someone new to gardening looking for an easy crop that they can harvest, the sunchoke is what I recommend. Simply because you will be successful! And for a new gardener that will undoubtedly see a hard learning curve the first few years, it's a good feeling to at least put 1 plant in the win column.

sunchokebig.jpg

The plant is closely related to the American sunflower and is a very healthy food for diabetics and those on strict diets. One cup of sliced sunchokes is only about 100 calories with only 8% being the total carbs. The plant is also used to make a whiskey in some countries like Germany.

So this week I went out to my garden to begin my harvest. You want to harvest in the winter and its really up to you when to do that. They will stay fine in the ground all winter. The plant is very invasive and you will struggle to keep it in bounds. So I started harvesting the ones that had grown outside of the grow box area. I was blown away by the amount I was pulling out of the ground.

You can identify the area by all of the long white stalks in the picture below. They grow very tall in the summer and look very much like sunflowers when they finally bloom.

sun1.jpg

I covered about a 2 square foot area and almost had a full wheel barrow already. This was plenty to get me going on planting my field located down the side of our mountain. ALL THIS FROM A 2 SQUARE FOOT AREA!

sun2.jpg

My picking up all the sunchokes that I can find. Digging sunchokes is more work than potatoes because they are smaller. Plan on getting dirty.

picking.jpg

Me finishing my haul. Hey listen guys, this is a really simple veggie you can grow in your garden. When you order them online, chances are they will only send you a small amount to get started. But each year, you will have more to replant.

wheel.jpg

SUNCHOKE RULES

  1. Plant them in an area where you don't mind if they take over. Because they will conquer the world at some point.
  2. They will grow in almost any soil condition but if you add things like wood chips and thick layers of leaves or straw, they will go nuts!
  3. Give them some space when you plant them. They will close the distance.
  4. Be patient! Every year take some of your harvest and expand your bed.

Again, this is a guaranteed harvestable crop every year. If you ever find yourself with the world collapsing down upon itself, this plant will be growing and giving up its bounty! It's a perfect SHTF crop.

Here is a video we did last year about sun chokes. ENJOY!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com

JOIN US ON SOLA FOR MORE HOMESTEAD CONTENT
Decentralized and Monetized Social Media
sola.jpg
https://sola.ai/americanhomestead


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

Dose the flowers have seeds like sunflowers do?

Not really. They do produce seed of course, but nothing like sunflowers.

I'm so grateful you're on Steemit! We love your Youtube videos!! Growing sunchokes in our family food forest....whatta crop!!! Please keep the incredible ..inspiring content coming!!!!! We appreciate you!!!

THANKS!

Loading...

We considered asking if we could bring some home with us last Sukkot, but then we thought, our lot is so small, it would take over our whole yard! It might be good to bury some in an empty lot near us and let them take over, for emergency food supply if need be. @ironshield

That's a good idea. Just let me know and I will box a few up and send them. Email me an address.

Those sound awesome! What do they taste like? How does your family like to prepare them?

I love them. You can eat them raw but just note that if you harvest in the fall or early winters, they will give you gas. The later in the winter you harvest them, the less gas. Some people call them fartichokes. LOL

But seriously, they are great in soups and sliced into salads. You can do anything that you would do with potatoes.

Wow that sounds awesome! I think I have another idea for the garden now! If I get my bamboo sprouted like I want (Moso Bamboo, grows 70+ feet and 7" around, timber grade) in about a month would you consider a trade? I live in the Southern MO Ozarks!

YES! I would love to grow some Bamboo like that!

Great! I am going to start trying to sprout them this weekend, but it may take time. Bamboo is tricky to sprout from what Ive read, but once it does youre good to go. I have 4 types Im going to try. Iron Bamboo, Black Bamboo, Purple Timor, and Moso. All of them have 1000s of potential uses. I am offering the Moso because, according to my research, is the most populus of bamboo used in China, and we are also on the same Latitude as the main region of this bamboo's key environment in China. Their young shoots are also edible and very nutritious. In optimal conditions, it can grow 12-14 INCHES a day!

Do you store them like you would with potatoes?

I've not had great results with storing them long term. The ground is the storage area. You can dig them up anytime during the winter.

Are you going to be selling some on your website? If not, where do you suggest we purchase from? I looked on Baker Creek and didn't find any. I love Jerusalem Artichokes! YUM!

Unfortunately, they grow in my garden and now out in the yard. Very invasive. No real diseases or plant pests. A great plant if you have an abandoned field or even some entities feral land. If Schumer Hits The Fan (SHTF) and your crops fail, you can always go harvest topinambour off the feral land.

A very tough plant and tasty if cooked properly.

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

True story! We have these and they’re certainly hard to kill. Ours aren’t great eating (wrong variety) but my parrot loves them!

I didn't know that some were better for eating. Ours are pretty good!

Ours have long, thin tubers. I’ve heard the larger ones like yours are better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79