Successes in DEFEATING THE JAPANESE BEETLE - And Flies Too! ~ VIDEO

We've gone on the defensive in winning the war against annoying and damaging insects on the homestead. Never give up! Never surrender!

Last year the flies on the homestead were really bad and I am happy to report that our Arbico Solar Fly Traps are really racking up the kills. These are more expensive than the regular bag traps. However, you can reuse these traps over and over each year.

We set them out early in the spring just when the flies started coming out. So the population around the houses was never allowed to get out of control in the first place. The bait that you make for these traps are really putrid. But it works!

Last year we had a huge issue with Japanese beetles and the damage was extensive. This year was also harsh but we are making headway on fixing this. The video below shows our traps and I talk about the idea of using milky spore.



JOIN US ON PATREON FOR MORE BEHIND THE SCENES HOMESTEAD CONTENT AND GIVEAWAYS!
become_a_patron_button.png
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

Hope you kill lots of beetles and get lots more food from your garden!

Yep! You only lose if you stop fighting.

Keep up the fight Zec!

I had to look up what Japanese beetles look like, and I thought, “Oh, I haven’t seen any of those, I don’t have to worry about them.” Until I saw a picture of the grub. We moved some dirt around a few weeks ago, and I saw a lot of those nasty things! I guess I’m not sure if it’s Japanese beetle grub or a difference one(do all grub look alike) but I’ve got the creepy crawlies now just thinking about it!
I’ll tell you, bugs of any sort are one part of homesteading I do not do well with.
Oh, and can you give those all to your chickens? Are there any insects chickens can’t have?

Yep! Because there are no chemicals involved, both the flies and the beetles can be fed to our egg making machines. :)

As an old hippie I can appreciate where the phrase "Don't bug me, man" may have originated - farm life. Been there!

Oh man!! When I lived more rural we had an influx and invasion of those little pests!

Now that we moved a little closer to a suburban/urban area we don't have them.. our biggest pest issue are Box Alders... they are awful!

I haven't had too many issues with the box alders/elders...not sure how you spell it.

In northeast Kansas I haven't seen that many Japanese beetles around but we are dryer than Missouri, especially in the last year. (We had a really dry winter and spring.) I will keep my eye out for them now. Better to stop the problem bugs before they REALLY become a pest.

We seem to have a squash beetle issue around these parts. Nematodes seem to have improved our chances of getting some squash off our plants.

How bad does the Arbico Solar Fly Traps smell? How far away can you smell it? Last year's Sukkot there was a fly invasion and would like to try something else this year!

Insects on the homestead are the bane of my existence. When we moved to the homestead the mosquitoes swarmed in clouds. We were inundated with ticks and had an overpopulation of black scorpions. We have done the yearly battle and we are winning. This is the second year we are able to sit out at night and not be eaten by vermin.

Now that is a battle that seems unending, sure hoping you get them under control!

Sorry to hear about your son.
We’ll keep him in our prayers 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76