How To Get CHEAPER SOLAR BATTERIES - Inside Information INSTALLERS Don't Want You To Know

solarbatts.jpg

Since we started homestead off grid in 2012, all of the regional home solar companies have gone out of business. There are a number of reasons for this that I have discussed in videos on our patreon page. But one of the reasons is the continued decline of pricing of batteries. WHY the decline? As we all know, when technology improves it usually results in a drop in prices.

When we recently needed some new batteries for a bank we were building for a freezer on our homestead, I couldn't believe the prices that some solar companies were giving me. All the local and regional companies were out of business but other companies were quoting astronomical prices on batteries. But I thought prices were supposed to come down with time and better technology? IT HAS!

BATTERY EDUCATION

When it comes to batteries, it's all about the amp hours. An amp hour is a how long a consistent flow of current(amp) will remain the same. So it's a unit of measurement for each particular battery. When I was calling around to find new batteries, I was getting all these outrageous quotes and prices and I couldn't figure out why. And then I asked about what amp hours these batteries were. Most of them were over 300 amp hours per 12 volt battery! THAT'S WHY!

Is all this confusing? Listen, this is simple. You want a 12 volt AGM battery with around 100-125 amp hours. This is plenty for most off grid solar operations. Technology has improved and prices have dropped but retailers are pushing the larger amp hour batteries in order to keep sales numbers up. Most of these solar companies are really struggling right now. And like I said above, there are a number of reasons for that.

Find Cheap Solar Batteries

I found some amazing batteries with great reviews on ebay of all places! They are called VMAX Batteries. These are 125 amp hour batteries and they were perfect for what we wanted to use them for.
AGM batteries are obviously more expensive than the cheaper lead acid batteries for many reasons. AGM batteries are very low maintenance and will last longer than your lead acid batteries. It's worth the extra money but with that in mind, you want your batteries to still be affordable.

You can find these AGM batteries for around $1k for a set of 4 and that includes FREE DELIVERY! So that is what we ordered and we got them in and began to set up our bank. If you're interested in finding these VMAX AGM batteries with great reviews, search ebay for "VMAX 12 volt AGM batteries"

So we got out batteries in and built a new box to house them in for our new off grid solar freezer.

bank.jpg

Then we got the batteries wired up with battery connector cables. These cables need to be of a large gauge to keep the bank as efficient as possible.

bankwired.jpg

That's it!

If you would like to see a wiring diagram of one of our AGM battery banks, we have provided that for you below.

Officewiring.jpg

If you have any questions about solar, I will do my best to answer them if you leave a comment below. THANKS FOR STOPPING BY!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com

JOIN US ON SOLA (TWITTER REPLACEMENT) FOR MORE HOMESTEAD CONTENT
sola.jpg
https://sola.ai/americanhomestead


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

I definitely agree with you that with a little electrical know-how, you don't need the prices that the big solar companies charge. My hubby rigged up a similar set-up to this one for our freezers with golf-cart batteries.

Yeah! That goes much further than electricity. Any skill we can learn ultimately saves us in the long run.

Thank you great post. Iam always looking for more batterys. I have been getting the deep cycle walmart ones. They are 109 amp hours. We only have a 200 watt system now but always looking to add more. Thanks again.

I believe Walmart sells the lead acid batteries. Unless they are now selling AGM's. The extra money for the AGM's is well worth it.

Yes lead acid batteries.

What brand inverter are you using? looking for your recommendation.
I have blended system with turbine and solar All hand built.

I have been through a few 1000w Grid tie inverters and even with a dumpload set at 800w I still manage to burn them out. I am beyond the abiity to save any money at this point since I am so far in with all the trashed hardware so I just need to know I have something that wont fail.

Thanks for any advice you may have to offer.

I have found by talking to others that grid tie is a much more complicated and it's best to have that professionally installed. For off grid applications the best option out there that I have found is Samlex inverters because they are one of the few that have the GFCI breakers on their inverters. I don't like Samlex because their customer service is horrible. IMHO.

Thanks for getting back to me on this.
I am so much of a DIY kinda guy I hate to have anyone on my property messing with my rigs. I will look to see if I can get similar equipment that may have been installed on retail setups.

Thanks for giving your opinion on the distinction between tied system and stand alone.

If your looking for one that will last buy a Magnum or An outBack. I do not like OutBack they do not care about who there selling to. I have been working in the renewable energy industry for the past 20 years. Seen maybe 10 or less Magnum die.

Hell I was off grid on my Mag for more than 10 years. I sold it to my dad and it's still running 24/7 for his well pump and small windo ac.. It's is am small 12 volt ME2012, If you can go to 24 tho. much beater. My solar now is 24 volts. Like it a lot more. Funny too most of the parts are the same or less cost at 24 volts.

Hope that helps..

Another awesome post educating folks about real life on an off grid property!

I’m sure once you know what you’re doing, it’s really not that bad, but looking at the diagram, my brain says no thank you!

I know I was intimidated at first but it's really not that bad once you give it a go.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

All this talk about electrical stuff still boggles my mind. Of course, it doesn't take much to addle an old fart's brain! My ultimate goal is to be totally off the grid this year, but my problem is that I need to build everything from scratch. It is almost impossible to get things shipped in and when it does come the duties are triple the value of the shipment. I need to have a combined system, turbine and solar since we have months of not much sun but plenty of wind. Can you recommend some decet reading material that would help me figure this out?

I recall when you posted a video about this. I have been working in the renewable energy industry for the past 20 years. Seen solar come down a lot. I recall a time when PV was more than 70 bucks a watt. Now before this 30% tax you could find PV as low as 31 cents a watt. We run are home on a small 24 volt 2500 watt pv setup with 675 hrs at 24 volts. We can't run ac at night but in the day time we do. Ar night due to my health we run are AC on grid. Working on going 100% off grid one day soon. Nt steem is what I am using to help pay for it. Thanks for you time. God Bless

great post! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45