Homestead SUGAR Syrup Production - AND, GI JOE CAT ATTACK!

sugartitle.jpg

You never know what you are going to see next on this off grid homestead. One day you may see us hard at work making our own sugar syrup and then later, the GI Joes conquering the cat. You just have to stay alert around here.

The time quickly came for us to harvest our cane sugar and cook it down. The harvest was not as big as last year as some deer decided to romp through our field and bed down among the cane. They destroyed a good portion of the potential harvest this year. But we were still able to harvest and cook down over 3 gallons worth of sugar syrup.

Here is the process.

First the cane has to be cut by hand and then loaded on a trailer. The trailer is unloaded up by our outdoor kitchen. The seed tops are cut off and saved. They will be sold to the public for growing cane and could be used as either chicken feed or dehulled and ground into flour. Cane seed is natural gluten free in case you are wondering.
juice5.jpg

SQUEEZE THE CANE

The next step is to squeeze the cane to get the juice. We have this 1 HP motor sugar cane juicer from Vietnam from a company called Tubobiz to press our cane into juice.
juice3.jpg

Everybody gets in on the process. Here is my youngest taking a turn at feeding the cane into the juicer.
juice2.jpg

My oldest @thehomeschoolkid feeding cane into the juicer.
juice4.jpg

Even Jaimie is helping to take turns on the juicer. It takes pretty much 2 full days to cut, juice and cook a quarter acre into syrup.
juice6.jpg

The juice falls from the juicer into a clean food grade bucket that will then be poured into the hot evaporator to cook. This juice is very tasty and healthy. Some people claim that this juice is the best health drink on the planet.
juice1.jpg

As the juice is collected from the squeezed cane, its poured into the evaporator and the cooking process begins.
The green film that rises to the surface is constantly skimmed off and discarded.
juice7.jpg

After the cooking is complete, the VERY hot syrup is poured into quart mason jars and turned upside down on a table so the lids will seal permanently. Here is a VIDEO! Sorry, no sound included with this clip.

15318f8e3e

The jars of yummy sweet syrup are now sitting in our pantry for future baking uses or cooking uses.

Later in the next day, my boys were playing with their action figures and noticed the cat had fallen asleep nearby. Uh-Oh! So the boys set up their action figures around the cat like they had killed the cat and asked me to take pictures.

cat2.jpg

cat1.jpg

Boys will be boys.


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

LOL I notice the cat is still in the house.... Sharing to twitter to show a great homestead self sufficiency item!

Growing Cane Sugar is FUN!

It sure looks like it!

I love this! For years we have enjoyed pure cane syrup from an old farmer in the next county. He's a dragline operator by trade, and i met him when he dug my daddy's bluegill pond in 1985. Well, he's getting up there in age now and i dont know how many years he'll be able to cook cane. So I met some Asian ladies at the market where I sell bread, and they grow cane. I traded them bread for baby bok choy (my FAVORITE) and some freshly cut cane. The juice is soooo good! Well, long story short, they offered to give us some cane to grow and told my 14 year old how they grow it (yay home school project!) So we'll be picking that up on Monday. She said she's bringing us the whole cane. This should be interesting!
Love your juicer btw!

That sounds great! Keep me posted!

Interesting process! We would've liked to have came out and helped you all! Anytime you need an extra hand don't hesitate to let us know. It's good learning for us all, and the boys are pretty handy, and always willing :)

No worries, we went ahead and did it because the weather was bearing down and it wouldn't last much longer.

That cat is precious. I used to 'play' a lot with my old cat too. I'm amazed at what it let me do, now that I think back at it.

I've never been a cat person but I like this one.

We used to tap maple trees and boil when we lived in Ohio - best maple syrup we ever had. I'd be interested in trying the cane and making syrup with it.

Fresh maple syrup sounds amazing!

I'm sure that will be some sweet tasting syrup!!! And yeah boys will be boys..I know my brother and I would have done something like that! HAHA

I'd be interested in buying some of those seeds. Can you share how to find where you're offering them?

Oh no! Coconut's under attack! I see some older Star Wars figures there too. You sure Coconut doesn't think he's getting a massage? lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57883.59
ETH 3070.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34