Deer Season Starts NOW! - Filling the HOMESTEAD Pantry

This is one of the biggest times of the year for the homestead. This is when we put up most of our meat for the year to use in meals later on. Meat is one of the most expensive items on your shopping list and the price isn't going down...probably ever!

So when given the opportunity to harvest free meat on the homestead, we jump (literally) at the chance to stock our shelves. You see, for our off grid homestead, we can raw pack pressure can this meat and just keep the canned meat until we need it. We eat this venison meat all throughout the year. We just pull off a can of the meat from the shelves and use it in chilli, or tacos, or casseroles and lots of other dishes that Jaimie prepares.

Here is our video on raw pack canning. We haven't moved this video to Vimeo yet.

So far, this season, we haven't seen a whole lot of activity on our deer cam. The rut is starting and the deer are still full of acorns and persimmons so we haven't seen a lot of activity at our feeder as of yet. The crows and squirrels are very appreciative of the corn we have put out.

Here is a nice doe that came to visit after the sun went down. Say Cheese!
deer1.jpg

Here is another picture of the same doe. I haven't seen any bucks caught on camera yet.
deer2.jpg

Mostly all I'm seeing on my camera photos are squirrels. I don't eat tree rats so this doesn't interest me in the least.
squ.jpg

Oh and we see a lot of these eating corn on my camera. Crows. At least the corn isn't going to waste but its not who I had intended it for.
crow.jpg

Just so you know, I'm not at all a trophy hunter looking for the big bucks. I'm only concerned about providing meat for the pantry. Any deer will do as long as it appears to be healthy.
I will keep you updated over the next two weeks of hunting season on what we harvest and the process we go through on processing our own meat. When you think about all the meat we put up, its a big money saver!

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

We lost a buck to a car accident yesterday. Luckily the lady and her two children were okay. The buck however was a complete loss. The impact split his belly open and everything was ruined. Plus it sat in the ditch for about an hour until I went to check it out. I buried him on the farm. No need in having the winds bring the smell of decay over my house.
I wish you a bountiful harvest this season.
My wife and I were walking the back of our farm and as we came out towards the shop we saw Max, laying out in the open. Really wish I could have harvested him.

LOL! He just stood there looking at you..."I know you aint got no gun on ya...tough guy eh?"

I had my 45 but at that distance...it probably would not have done much. Plus he was on the neighbors property. Gonna go out and check things in a bit and see if I cannot find him again and mess with him.
I really enjoyed the video of how you store the venison. I think a pressure cooker will be a great gift idea for our anniversary gift to each other next month! Thanks again!

Kenny

I'm surprised it didn't take off right away...cocky buck! :D

I can only assume my scent is tied to the feeders so maybe the threat of danger isn’t so high. I try to walk my property every couple days so they associate my scent with all the goodies I provide. Just my hunch.

That makes sense and you're probably right. My husband does the same thing. :D

The only thing I've ever canned was honey, back when we had hives here. I've never heard of canning meat before this video, vegetables yes, but meat never. Its neat to see it done. I'll have to look more into that because it would be nice to not have to freeze/refrigerate everything.
Thanks for sharing. Have an awesome day! :D

It's how we save most of our meat.

That would be a good thing for us to start doing, especially since we seem to lose power at least once a winter, lately. We had one year where we had no power for 10 days straight, lost a lot of meat out of our freezer, it was horrible. This would prevent that from happening for sure.

All the animals are after a meal. Nice looking doe coming to eat that corn. How many feeders did you put out?

I only have one feeder out but going to put out another this week.

Putting out a salt lick could be helpful also.

I agree no need to hunt for a trophy but the bucks do put on the extra lbs compared to the ladies which can fill more jars! Have a great successful season!

Just got back this morning...nothing so far...I'm just beginning.

Awesome post. I have never canned meat. Everything else, yes. This year I will try and see how I do. Need more jars...

Yeah you can never have enough jars!

Sharing to show self sufficiency in action!

I am sharing straight to twitter now..

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Every of us should be get our own food specialy the meat from homestead here we only catch rabits and some reptiles like garrobos or iguanas, chicken hen and a little animal for get protein for eat.
Best regard @galberto

How Long will the meat stay good canned? I may need to try this.

It should stay good until you use it. We always use it all up within the year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39