You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revved Up Ragtag, Part 10 - Getting Organized, Plus A Contest!

in #homesteading7 years ago

One of the things I love about living in Florida is the long growing season -- and the fact that I can have fruit trees - but I have to admit that coming here from upstate New York means no more rocks and I am surprised by how much I miss them! We are choosing to go with raised beds mostly because of the hard rains. You would think sandy soil would just soak up the water and take it away but it actually pools. Our first year I had a great garden started and it drowned in one afternoon. Live and learn.

Sort:  

I dont think Id miss the rocks in terms of gardening. I actually grew up on the Virginia part of the Delmarva Peninsula, and the growing conditions there are excellent. The growing season is not as long a Florida, of course, but the soil there is incredible. Gardening is a lot easier there than most places. But thats a good point about the raised beds. I know Florida does get some hard rains but I would not have thought of that either as far as being a problem.

Do the raised beds need to be watched more (to make sure theyre getting enough water) than a typical garden? Im asking because last year I did some growing in air pots and I definitely needed to keep more of an eye on them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13