You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our First Month Homesteading

Good for you! I'm impressed. I am loving reading about your adventures. My homesteading days are in the past, but I've raised cows, pigs, chickens, rabbits, big gardens, canned and made pickled fish and lots of other pickles, and did a lot of wild foraging. I came upon my flock of chickens much the same way you did, and transported them home in the back of my old station wagon. But all that was long ago. My partner died last year, and my gardening this year consisted of growing potatoes in a big old pot on the deck of my condo. It will be fun reading of all you are doing and all the memories that brings back for me!

Sort:  

That's amazing! I'm a little nervous about the chickens -- I can't imagine raising so many different animals!

I'm sorry to hear about your loss. My Grandfather lost my Grandmother this time last year...it's been a hard transition for him. He said to me, "They write thousands of books on how to raise kids, but none on how to live past 80." What was left unspoken was the lack of books on how to live after losing your partner of 50+ years. I pray for healing for you and I hope my little posts from my small homestead bring you joy!

40 years ago, the book 'Raising Poultry the Modern Way' was THE book. Hope they have come out with better ones since then!
Thanks for your kind words... I'll be following your posts!

I have a few ebooks on poultry, and Joel Salatin is one of the newer voices in the hobby farming/micro-farming industry. If you haven't read any of his books yet, I highly recommend them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62213.63
ETH 2420.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59